2017-18 NFL and College Head Coaching Changes

With the coaching carousel once again underway, we’ve created the 2017-18 coaching changes page.

Consider this your one-stop shop for coaching changes at every level of football – NFL, NCAA and NAIA – throughout the fall and winter, so check back frequently. For your reference, here are the lists of changes for the 2012-13, 2013-142014-15, 2015-16, and the 2016-2017 seasons.

There has been one coaching changes at the NFL level so far this season, as of December 4th. Last year, six jobs came open. There were seven changes following the 2015 season.

Team 2017 Coach 2018 Coach
New York Giants Ben McAdoo

In FBS, 20 jobs have opened as of Dec. 5 and 18 have been filled. Number of changes over the past seven seasons: 22 (2008), 23 (2009), 24 (2010), 28 (2011), 31 (2012), 20 (2013), 15 (2014) and 29 (2015), 21 (2016).

Team 2017 Coach 2018 Coach
Arizona State Todd Graham  Herm Edwards
Arkansas Bret Bielema Chad Morris
Florida Jim McElwain Dan Mullen
Florida State Jimbo Fisher Willie Taggart
Georgia Southern Tyson Summers Chad Lunsford
Kent State Paul Haynes
Louisiana-Lafayette Mark Hudspeth
Mississippi State Dan Mullen Joe Moorhead
Nebraska Mike Riley Scott Frost
Ole Miss Matt Luke (I) Matt Luke
Oregon Willie Taggart Mario Cristobal
Oregon State Gary Andersen Jonathan Smith
Rice David Bailiff  Mike Bloomgren
SMU Chad Morris Sonny Dykes
South Alabama Joey Jones  Steve Campbell
Tennessee Butch Jones Jeremy Pruitt
Texas A&M Kevin Sumlin Jimbo Fisher
UCF Scott Frost Josh Heupel
UCLA Jim Mora Chip Kelly
UTEP Sean Kugler Dana Dimel

In FCS, 18 jobs have come open as of Dec. 9 and six have been filled. Fifteen jobs came open during the 2016 offseason, and a total of 19 schools changed coaches after the 2015 season.

Team 2017 Coach 2018 Coach
Alabama A&M James Spady
Alabama State Brian Jenkins Donald Hill Eley
Arkansas-Pine Bluff Monte Coleman
Central Arkansas Steve Campbell Nathan Brown
Davidson Paul Nichols
Delaware State Kenneth Carter
East Tennessee State Carl Torbush
Florida A&M Alex Wood Willie Simmons
Fordham Andrew Breiner
Hampton Connell Maynor  Robert Prunty
Holy Cross  Tom Gilmore
Incarnate Word Larry Kennan
Mississippi Valley State Rick Comegy
Montana Bob Stitt Bobby Hauck
North Carolina Central Jerry Mack
Northwestern State Jay Thomas Brad Laird
Prairie View A&M Willie Simmons
Robert Morris John Banaszak
Tennessee Tech Marcus Satterfield

Nine schools have made changes in Division II as of Dec. 6, and three have been filled. 26 jobs opened at the D-II level after last season.

Team 2017 Coach 2018 Coach
Adams State (CO) Timm Rosenbach
East Central (OK) Tim McCarty
Lenoir-Rhyne (NC) Mike Kellar Drew Cronic
Lincoln (PA) Reginald Byarse Jr. (I)
Mary (ND) Josh Kotelnicki Craig Bagnell
Shorter (GA) Aaron Kelton
Simon Fraser (BC) Kelly Bates
Virginia Union Mark James
Southwestern Oklahoma State Dan Cocannouer*  Chet Pobolish

Fourteen schools at the Division III level have announced a change and five vacancies have been filled as of Dec. 6. In Division III, 25 schools hired new head coaches after last year.

Team 2017 Coach 2018 Coach
Alma Greg Psconda
Anderson (IN) Joe Sala
Belhaven Hal Mumme
Colby College (ME) Jonathan Michaeles
Endicott (MA) Kevin DeWall Paul McGonagle
Finlandia (MI) Tim Driscoll Rob Boss
Gettysburg (PA) Barry Streeter
Minnesota-Morris Marty Hoffman & Matt Johnson (c) Marty Hoffman
Muhlenberg (PA) Mike Donnelly# Nate Milne
Muskingum (OH) Al Logan
Pacific Lutheran (WA) Scott Westering
Rochester (NY) Scott Greene*
Thomas More (KY)  Regis Scafe* Trevor Stellman
Wilkes (PA) Trey Brown

There have been six NAIA coaching changes as of Nov. 20. Last off season, 13 NAIA coaching changes took place.

Team 2017 Coach 2018 Coach
Bethel (KS) Morris Lolar
Bethel (TN) Chris Elliott
Lyon (AR) Kyle Phelps
Montana State-Northern  Aaron Christensen
Sterling (KS) Chuck Lambert Chase Hansen
Trinity International (IL) Kirk Wherritt

(I) denotes that the coach spent the 2017 season as the interim
(*) denotes coach announced retirement before the season
(#) denotes coach passed away
(n) denotes a new program
(c) denotes co-head coaches

As always, if we missed anyone please let us know at 225.229.3429,, or via Twitter (DM if you’d like) @FootballScoop.