Since 1999, the premier source for coaching job information

Photos: Illinois' new unis
Luther staff issues a challenge
Nebraska's top recruiting tool?

2012-2013 Head Coaching Changes

A running total of head coaching changes following the 2012 season.

As of Thursday January 17, a total of eight NFL head coaching vacanies have come open and all have been filled. 

Team 2012 Coach 2013 Coach
Arizona Cardinals Ken Whisenhunt Bruce Arians
Buffalo Bills Chan Gailey Doug Marrone
Chicago Bears Lovie Smith Marc Trestman

Cleveland Browns

Pat Shurmur

Rob Chudzinski

Kansas City Chiefs

Romeo Crennel Andy Reid

Jacksonville Jaguars

Mike Mularkey Gus Bradley

Philadelphia Eagles

Andy Reid Chip Kelly

San Diego Chargers

Norv Turner Mike McCoy

At the FBS level, as of Wednesday January 23, a total of 31 openings have occured and all have been filled. 

Just for reference, after the last few seasons this is the number of programs making head coaching changes: 22 (2008), 23 (2009), 24 (2010), 28 (2011), 31 (2012 - as of Jan. 23).

Program 2012 Coach 2013 Coach
Arkansas John L. Smith Bret Bielema          
Arkansas State Gus Malzahn Bryan Harsin
Auburn Gene Chizik Gus Malzahn
Boston College Frank Spaziani Steve Addazio
Cal Jeff Tedford Sonny Dykes
Cincinnati Butch Jones Tommy Tuberville
Colorado Jon Embree Mike MacIntyre
FIU Mario Cristobal Ron Turner
Georgia State Bill Curry Trent Miles
Idaho Robb Akey Paul Petrino
Kent State Darrell Hazell Paul Haynes
Kentucky Joker Phillips Mark Stoops
LA Tech Sonny Dykes Skip Holtz
NC State Tom O'Brien Dave Doeren
Nevada Chris Ault Brian Polian
New Mexico State DeWayne Walker Doug Martin
Northern Illinois Dave Doeren Rod Carey
Oregon Chip Kelly Mark Helfrich
Purdue Danny Hope Darrell Hazell
San Jose State Mike MacIntyre Ron Caragher
South Florida Skip Holtz Willie Taggart
Southern Miss Ellis Johnson Todd Monken
Syracuse Doug Marrone Scott Shafer
Temple Steve Addazio Matt Rhule
Tennessee Derek Dooley Butch Jones
Texas Tech Tommy Tuberville Kliff Kingsbury
Utah State Gary Andersen Matt Wells
UTEP Mike Price Sean Kugler
Western Kentucky Willie Taggart Bobby Petrino
Western Michigan Bill Cubit P.J. Fleck
Wisconsin Bret Bielema Gary Andersen

At the FCS level, as of Tuesday January 29, 17 openings have occured and one remains open at this time.

Program 2012 Coach 2013 Coach
Appalachian State Jerry Moore Scott Satterfield
Austin Peay Rick Christophel
Campbell Dale Steele Mike Minter
Charleston Southern Jay Mills Jamey Chadwell
Cornell Kent Austin David Archer
Davidson Tripp Merritt Paul Nichols
Delaware K.C. Keeler Dave Brock
Florida A&M Joe Taylor Earl Holmes
Gardner-Webb Ron Dickerson, Jr. Carroll McCray
Indiana State Trent Miles Mike Sanford Sr.
Jacksonville State Jack Crowe Bill Clark
Morehead State Matt Ballard Rob Tenyer
Northwestern State Bradley Dale Peveto Jay Thomas
San Diego  Ron Caragher Dale Lindsey
Southern Stump Mitchell Dawson Odums
Western Illinois Mark Hendrickson Bob Nielson
UC Davis Bob Biggs Ron Gould

At the Division II level, as of Friday January 18, 21 openings have occured and four remain open at this time.

Program 2012 Coach 2013 Coach
Augustana (S.D.) Mike Aldrich Jerry Olszewski
Arkansas Tech Steve Mullins Raymond Monica
Catawba (N.C.) Chip Hester Curtis Walker
Clark Atlanta Daryl McNeil Kevin Weston
Delta State (MS) Jamey Chadwell Todd Cooley
Fairmont State (W.V.) Mike Lopez Jason Woodman
Fayetteville State (N.C.) Kenny Phillips Lawrence Kershaw
Fort Lewis (CO) Cesar Rivas-Sandoval John L. Smith
Kutztown (PA) Raymond Monica Drew Folmar
Limestone (S.C.) Rich Turner Bobby James
Lincoln (PA) O.J. Abanishe
Livingstone (N.C.) Elvin James Daryl Williams
McKendree (IL) Carl Poelker Mike Babcock
North Greenville (SC) Carroll McCray Jeff Farrington
Seton Hill (PA) Joel Dilinski Isaac Collins
Southwest Baptist (MO) Keith Allen Craig Shuler
Texas A&M - Commerce Guy Morriss Colby Carthel
Texas A&M - Kingsville Bo Atterberry David Calloway
Virginia State Andrew Faison Latrell Scott
Walsh (OH) Jim Dennison Ted Karras
West Virginia State Earl Monroe Jon Anderson
W. Va. Wesleyan Jonas Jackson George Shehl

At the Division III level, as of Friday January 25, 20 openings have occured and six remain open at this time.

Program 2012 Coach 2013 Coach
Capital (OH) Henry Stanford Craig Candeto
Carthage (WI) Tim Rucks Mike Yeager 
Concordia - Chicago Lonnie Pries Eric Hennessey
DePauw (IN) Robby Long Bill Lynch
East Texas Baptist Mark Sartain Josh Eargle
Elmhurst (IL) Tim Lester Joe Adam
Hamline (MN) John Pate Chad Rogosheke
Husson (ME) Sean Murphy Gabby Price
John Carroll (OH) Regis Scafe Tom Arth
Knox (IL) Chad Eisele Damon Tomeo
Luther (IA) Mike Durnin Aaron Hafner
Marietta (OH) Jeff Filvoski Andy Waddle
North Park (IL) Scott Pethel Mike Conway
Occidental (CA) Bill Redell Doug Semones
Shenandoah (VA) Paul Barnes Scott Yoder
St. John's (MN) John Gagilardi Gary Fasching
St. Olaf (MN) Jerry Olszewski Craig Stern
Sul Ross State (TX) Wayne Schroeder
Wilmington (OH) Ken Minor Stacey Hariston
Wisconsin Lutheran Dr. Dennis Miller Ben Murphy
Wooster (OH) Mike Schmitz Frank Colaprete 

Author: Scott Roussel
A proud father of three and husband to an amazing wife, Scott has been overseeing FootballScoop and bringing you the latest coaching news for six years now. The creator of our Coaches of the Year awards, Scott probably speaks with more coaches nationwide than just about anyone. Have a question about the site or a job, feel free to contact Scott anytime at [email protected]