Since 1999 all sources remain confidential. or 225.229.3429
  • Video of the Day: Graham Harrell mic’d up

    Video of the Day

    Wednesday June 3, 2015

    Graham Harrell: Mic’d Up

  • College Football Playoff sets kick times for 2015-16 games

    Daily Emerald

    Daily Emerald

    How do you feel about going out on New Year’s Eve – bar, house party, what have you? More importantly, how does your wife? The answers to those questions could determine how – or if at all – you watch two of college football’s most important games for the 2015 season.

    Despite reported pressure from ESPN, Bill Hancock and the rest of the College Football Playoff brass have sunk their heels into the mud in their attempt to claim New Year’s Eve as their own. Hancock said the new system will “change the paradigm of New Year’s Eve in this country” from the day the Playoff was born, and this season will put his words to the test.

    Announced Tuesday, here is the schedule for this year’s College Football Playoff

    New Year’s Eve
    Peach Bowl – noon ET
    Cotton or Orange Bowl, National Semifinal – 4 p.m. ET
    Cotton or Orange Bowl, National Semifinal – 8 p.m. ET

    New Year’s Day
    Fiesta Bowl – 1 p.m. ET
    Rose Bowl – 5 p.m. ET
    Sugar Bowl – 8:30 p.m. ET

    Depending on how long the semifinals may or may not run, the second semifinal could conclude right as the ball drops in Times Square.

    I’m sure everyone at your New Year’s Eve party will understand when you change the channel.

  • Photo: Charlie Strong chillin’ with a pair of baby tigers

    Your random Tuesday afternoon in June has been delightfully interrupted by this photo from Texas linebacker Dalton Santos:

    The tigers, apparently, are not Strong’s, but belong to a “friend of the program” who dropped them off in the offices.

    But, still, the jokes. Oh, so many jokes.

  • Five coaches named to College Football Hall of Fame ballot

    Danny Ford2

    In the past five years, the College Football Hall of Fame has inducted, among others, the following coaches: Mike Bellotti, Lloyd Carr, Fisher DeBerry, Phillip Fulmer, Jimmy Johnson, Bill McCartney, R.C. Slocum, Bill Snyder and Jim Tressel. That’s a lot of star power.

    So it should come as no surprise that the 2016 class will lack the wattage of previous classes. Announced Tuesday, the five following coaches are up for the FBS ballot:

    - Jim Carlsen: West Virginia (1996-69), Texas Tech (1970-74) and USC (1975-81). Posted 13 winning seasons and eight bowl games in 16 campaigns as a head coach. Won a 1973 national coach of the year award and claimed the Southwest Conference’s coach of the year honor three times in five years.

    Pete Cawthon, Sr.: Austin College (1923-27), Texas Tech (1930-40). Helped the Red Raiders win four Border Conference titles in 11 seasons, including a 10-0 mark and the program’s first Cotton Bowl trip in 1938.

    - Danny Ford: Clemson (1978-89), Arkansas (1993-97). Led Clemson to its only national title in 1981, and also won five ACC titles and two ACC coach of the year honors. Set Clemson record with 41 straight weeks in the AP Top 20. Presided over Arkansas’ first SEC West title in 1995.

    - Billy Jack Murphy: Memphis (1958-71). Registered 11 winning seasons, leaving the program as the 15th-winningest coach in school history. Still stands as the Tigers’ all-time winningest coach.

    – Darryl Rogers: Cal State East Bay (1965), Fresno State (1966-72), San Jose State (1973-75), Michigan State (1976-79), Arizona State (1980-84). Led Fresno State to two bowl games, helped San Jose State make its first appearance in the AP Top 25, earned Big Ten coach of the year honors in 1977 and led Michigan State to the 1978 Big Ten title.

    You are forgiven if those names don’t roll off the tongue, and all of you who knew Cawthon’s credentials (or were aware of his existence) shall receive bonus points.

    As the only coach in the group with a national championship, Ford feels like a lock, which leaves one spot among the four remaining candidates to be announced to the 2016 class during January’s College Football Playoff festivities.

    Mack Brown and Steve Spurrier will reach Hall of Fame eligibility soon enough. Until then, the hall may have to make do with some lean years.

  • Video: See Andrew Luck as Joe Namath and Gronk as a toothless hockey player

    Back in the day, athletes didn’t care about how they trained or what they put in their bodies.

    But now, world-class athletes like Andrew Luck, Gronk, Richard Sherman, James Harden, Mike Trout, Buster Posey and Skylar Diggins watch everything they put into their bodies. And because they care so much, you see, they drink Body Armor – not be confused with UnderArmour.

    (HT Fox Sports)