Since 1999 all sources remain confidential. [email protected] or 225.229.3429
  • Video: Watch Nebraska players learn they earned the #BlackShirt

    Mike Riley just released this video.

    Clearly, this is about as big is as it gets for some of these guys. Huge moment in a young man’s life.

    Thanks for sharing coach.

  • How much do HS coaches make? See the 20 highest-paid Houston area HS coaches

    Gary Joseph

    Thanks to local newspapers across the country and the intrepid folks at USA Today, we know everything there is to know about FBS coaching salaries. But beyond that? Nada. And that’s a shame, because each and every one of us wants to know what the guy on the sideline over is making.

    But thanks to the Houston Chronicle, we have salary information for 61 Greater Houston area public high school football coaches. Spoiler alert: If you’re a high school football coach, try to get hired in the Houston suburbs. Most of these guys are getting paid.

    Not that they don’t deserve it, though. Quite the opposite, in fact. Look no further than No. 1 on this list – Katy’s Gary Joseph. Joseph has been with the program for three decades now, helping the Tigers win three Class 5A state championships and play for three more and racking up a 108-11 mark as head coach at one of the biggest programs in the entire country. For anyone arguing Joseph is overpaid, go back and look at Katy High School, Katy ISD and the city of Katy at large when Joseph arrived 30 years ago and compare it to the behemoth it is today. I’d just as soon argue Joseph is worth twice as much as he’s getting paid.

    You can view the full list here, but I’ve ranked the top 20 below.

    1. Gary Joseph, Katy – $132,011
    2. Donald Clayton, Katy Cinco Ranch – $127,011
    3. Charles Meadows, Katy Morton Ranch – $121,011
    4. Anthony Tademy, Katy Tompkins – $114,957
    5. Lydell Wilson, Katy Seven Lakes – $113,602
    6. Richard Carson, The Woodlands College Park – $111,418
    7. Hiram Walker, Conroe – $111,418
    8. Mark Schmid, The Woodlands – $110,317
    9. Bill Barron, Alief Elsik – $110,212
    10. James Rabe, Katy Mayde Creek – $107,850
    11. Dereck Rush, Conroe Oak Ridge – $107,773
    12. Steven Svendsen, Caney Creek – $105,400
    13. Dennis Brantley, Fort Bend Elkins – $103,014
    14. Daniel Schreiber, Fort Bend Austin – $101,922
    15. Kerry Bamberg, Aldine Eisenhower – $99,651
    16. Jeffery Ganske, Pasadena – $99,647
    17. David Martel, Alief Hastings – $99,130
    18. David Smith, Klein Oak – $98,974
    19. J.D. Jordan, Alief Taylor – $98,634
    20. James Showers, Aldine Davis – $98,265

  • Kevin Sumlin surprises two walk-ons with scholarships using a video presentation

    Something tells me that Texas A&M starts nearly every meeting with a video of some sort to get the juices flowing.

    So when Kevin Sumlin told the team to settle in for a quick video at the start of a team meeting, to be followed by a special teams meeting, chances are nothing felt out of the ordinary.

    But after the first clip of a wide receiver making a play, the words “SCHOLARSHIP” flashed on the screen, and the room erupts. Then another clip, this time of a running back busting a big run, followed by ‘SCHOLARSHIP,” and the players catch on to what is unfolding.

    Nice touch by Sumlin and his staff finding a unique way to spring it on his guys.

  • Video: The most insane touchdown you’ll see this season

    There won’t be a more insane touchdown scored this season. It’s not possible.

    This touchdown, scored by the Massillon Jackson (Ohio) JV team, is so bonkers that it looks like Polar Bears conspired with the defense in some weird act of performance art.

    Seriously, try to come up with a more improbable touchdown than this that doesn’t involve the help of actual polar bears. You can’t do it.

  • A new award has been launched to honor college football’s best offensive line

    College football has no shortage of awards, but a new one launched Monday that set itself completely apart from the rest of the field.

    Founded by former Notre Dame offensive lineman Aaron Taylor, the Joe Moore Award will honor the best offensive line in college football. Not best offensive lineman, best offensive line. The entire unit.

    From the official press release:

    The Joe Moore Award will annually recognize the offensive line unit that best displays toughness, effort, teamwork, physicality, tone setting and finishing. The first annual award will be presented following the conclusion of the regular season.  The voting committee is comprised solely of people who played or coached the position, including all of the current offensive line coaches at the Division I/FBS level as well as former players, coaches, colleagues of Coach Moore and select media.

    The award is designed to preserve the legacy of Joe Moore, who coached most notably at the University of Pittsburgh and Notre Dame. Moore died of lung cancer in 2003.  He was responsible for developing the skills of several All-Americans throughout his storied career, including Bill Fralic, Mark May, Russ Grimm, Jimbo Covert, Mark Stepnowski, Aaron Taylor and Andy Heck. Moore coached 52 players who went on to play in the NFL, several of whom are in the Pro and College Football Halls of Fame.

    With the creation of the Joe Moore Award, let it never be said that offensive linemen are under-appreciated in college football. In theory, a highly-effective center could win the Rimington (best center), Outland (best offensive lineman), Lombardi (best interior player) and Moore (best unit) awards, in addition to all the other “best player” awards (Maxwell, Walter Camp, Heisman) in which he is technically eligible.

    Weekly standouts will be honored each Tuesday, semifinalists announced Nov. 16, and five finalists revealed Nov. 30. The winning group will be announced “after the conclusion of the regular season.”