Clemson co-offensive coordinator and running backs coach Tony Elliott has won the Broyles Award, it was announced Tuesday. He is the second straight winner from the staff of the defending national champions to claim the honor, joining 2016 winner Brent Venables.

(In the interest of full disclosure, I am a voting member of the Broyles Award committee. I voted for Elliott.)

Finalists for this year’s honor were Oklahoma co-offensive coordinator/offensive line coach Bill Bedenbaugh,  Wisconsin defensive coordinator/defensive backs coach Jim Leonhard, Auburn defensive coordinator Kevin Steele and Central Florida offensive coordinator/wide receivers coach Troy Walters.

Recent winners of the Broyles Award include Clemson defensive coordinator Brent Venables, Oklahoma head coach Lincoln Riley and Texas head coach Tom Herman. This is the 22nd year of the Broyles Award, dating back to 1996 winner Mickey Andrews. Clemson is the first school to post back-to-back winners.

The Broyles Award allows each of its finalists to give a speech, and we’ve posted them here.

National columnist - Zach joined the staff in 2012...and has been attempting to improve Doug and Scott's writing ability ever since (to little avail). Outside of football season, you can find him watching the San Antonio Spurs reading Game of Thrones fan theories.