Skip to main content

173 FBS head coaching changes since '05

Of the 124 FBS programs this season, almost a quarter (28 to be exact) will have new head coaches on the sidelines in the fall. So, how does this number stack up to the past few seasons?

A steady rise in fresh faces for college programs has been taking place since 2008, when 18 new head coaches were named. In 2009 that number rose to 22, and up to 23 in 2010, 24 in 2011 and now 28 new head coaches will head into 2012.

According to YahooSports, there have been 173 FBS head coaching changes over the past eight seasons. The study also took a look at of the total FBS head coaches named, and what percentage of them are no longer there.

Back in 2007, 24 new head coaches were hired and 17 of them are no longer there (70.8%). The seven coaches that were hired for that 2007 season that are still with their same team include Troy Calhoun, Nick Saban, Mario Cristobal, Robb Akey, Mark Dantonio, Tom O'Brien, and David Bailiff. Only O'Brien, Cristobal, and Bailiff's teams finished below .500 that first season.

Even more impressively, seven head coaches remain with the same school that they started their 2005 campaign with. Bronco Mendenhall, Les Miles, Frank Solich, Miike Gundy, Steve Spurrier, Kyle Whittingham, and Bill Cubit all return for their eighth season at their respective school. Only Solich and Gundy finished that first season under .500...and look how far they've both come since. Solich has finished 1st in the MAC east 4 times since his arrival and Gundy has won the Big 12 outright once (the South division twice) and narrowly missed playing for the National Championship last season.

On the other slower end of the coaching carousel, only 11 new head coaches were named in 2006, and the four still remaining at their original school are among some of the most accomplished in the country. Chris Petersen, Bret Bielema, Rick Stockstill, and Pat Fitzgerald were all named head coaches heading into the 2006 season, and we don't even need to get into the long list of accomplishments for Petersen (who went 13-0 his first season) and Bielema (who went 12-1 his first season).

173 changes in eight average of 22 per season.