Coaching change season is in full swing, which means it’s time to start tracking changes across all levels of college and professional football. 

Consider this page your one-stop shop for coaching changes at every level of football – NFL, NCAA and NAIA – throughout the winter, so check back frequently. 

In the NFL, seven head coaching jobs have come open and all seven have been filled as of Jan. 23. There were eight coaching changes in the NFL following the 2012 season.

Team 2013 Coach 2014 Coach
Cleveland Browns  Rob Chudzinski  Mike Pettine
Detroit Lions Jim Schwartz Jim Caldwell
Houston Texans  Gary Kubiak Bill O’Brien
Minnesota Vikings Leslie Frazier Mike Zimmer
Tampa Bay Buccaneers  Greg Schiano Lovie Smith
Tennessee Titans Mike Munchak Ken Whisenhunt
Washington Redskins  Mike Shanahan Jay Gruden

At the FBS level, a total of 20 jobs have come open and all 20 have been filled as of Jan. 19. 

As a point of reference, here are the number of coaching changes following the last five seasons: 22 (2008), 23 (2009), 24 (2010), 28 (2011), 31 (2012). Additionally, here is our list of coaching changes from the 2012-13 hiring season.

School 2013 Coach 2014 Coach
Arkansas State Bryan Harsin Blake Anderson
Army Rich Ellerson Jeff Monken
Boise State Chris Petersen Bryan Harsin
Bowling Green Dave Clawson Dino Babers
Connecticut Paul Pasqualoni Bob Diaco
Eastern Michigan  Ron English Chris Creighton
Florida Atlantic Carl Pelini Charlie Partridge
Georgia Southern  Jeff Monken Willie Fritz
Louisville Charlie Strong Bobby Petrino
Massachusetts Charley Molnar Mark Whipple
Miami (Ohio) Don Treadwell Chuck Martin
Penn State Bill O’Brien James Franklin
Texas Mack Brown Charlie Strong
UAB Garrick McGee Bill Clark
USC Lane Kiffin Steve Sarkisian
Vanderbilt James Franklin Derek Mason
Wake Forest Jim Grobe Dave Clawson
Washington Steve Sarkisian Chris Petersen
Western Kentucky  Bobby Petrino Jeff Brohm
Wyoming Dave Christensen Craig Bohl

(NOTE: Georgia Southern joins the Sun Belt in 2014.) 

At the FCS level, we are showing 27 head coaching changes and 26 positions have been filled as of Jan. 30.

School 2013 Coach 2014 Coach
Alabama A&M Anthony Jones James Spady
Albany Robert Ford Greg Gattuso

Central Arkansas

Clint Conque Steve Campbell
Central Connecticut Jeff McInerney Pete Rossomando
The Citadel Kevin Higgins Mike Houston
Colgate Dick Biddle Dan Hunt
Drake Chris Creighton Rick Fox
Eastern Illinois Dino Babers Kim Dameron
Elon Jason Swepson Rich Skrosky
Georgetown Kevin Kelly  
Grambling Doug Williams Broderick Fobbs
Hampton Donovan Rose Connell Maynor
Jackson State Rick Comegy Harold Jackson
Jacksonville State Bill Clark John Grass
James Madison Mickey Matthews Everett Withers
Mississippi Valley State  Karl Morgan Rick Comegy
Morgan State Donald Hill-Eley Lee Hull
North Carolina Central  Henry Frazier III Jerry Mack
North Dakota Chris Mussman Bubba Schweigert
North Dakota State Craig Bohl Chris Klieman
Robert Morris Joe Walton

John Banaszak

Rhode Island Joe Trainer Jim Fleming
Sam Houston State Willie Fritz K.C. Keeler
Southeast Missouri Tony Samuel Tom Matukewicz
Stephen F. Austin J.C. Harper Clint Conque
Valparaiso Dale Carlson Dave Cecchini
Weber State Jody Sears Jay Hill

In Division II, 20 schools have switched head coaches and 16 positions have been filled as of Jan. 30.

School 2013 Coach 2014 Coach
Bentley (MA) Thom Boerman Bill Kavanaugh
Central State (OH) EJ Junior  
Central Washington John Picha Ian Shoemaker
Kutztown (PA) Drew Folmar  
Lenoir-Rhyne (NC) Mike Houston Ian Shields
Mary (ND) Myron Schulz Josh Kotelnicki
Minnesota-Crookston Paul Miller Mike Fritze
Minot State (ND) John Randolph Todd Hoffner
Mississippi College Norman Joseph John Bland
Northeastern State (OK) Kenny Evans Rob Robinson
Northwood (MI) Mike Sullivan Pat Riepma
Pace (NY) Chris Dapolito Andrew Rondeau
Simon Fraser (Canada) Dave Johnson  
Southeastern Oklahoma State  Ray Richards Bo Atterberry
Southern Connecticut State Rich Cavanaugh  
Virginia Union Michael Bailey Mark James
West Alabama Will Hall Brett Gilliland
West Georgia Daryl Dickey Will Hall
West Texas A&M Don Carthel Mike Nesbitt
Winston-Salem State (NC) Connell Maynor Kienus Boulware

(NOTE: Mississippi College joins the Gulf South Conference in 2014.) 

At the Division III level, 18 schools have announced coaching changes and 14 positions has been filled as of Feb. 10.

School 2013 Coach 2014 Coach
Aurora (IL) Mark Walsh Rick Ponx
Averett (VA)  Mike Dunlevy Clevie Adams
Beloit (WI) Chris Brann Seth Duerr
Castleton State (VT) Marc Klatt  
Emory and Henry (VA)  Don Montgomery Curt Newsome
Frostburg State (MD) Tom Rogish DeLane Fitzgerald
Loras College (IA) Paul Mierkiewicz Steve Helminiak
Nichols College (MA) Kevin Loney Dale Olmstead
Oberlin (OH) Jeff Ramsey Jay Anderson
Southern Virginia DeLane Fitzgerald   
St. Norbert (WI) Jim Purtill Steve Opgenorth
St. Vincent (PA) Bob Colbert Ron Dolciato
Sul Ross State (TX) John Tyree John Pearce
Trinity (TX) Steve Mohr Jerheme Urban
Westfield State (MA) Steve Marino  
Westminster (PA) Jeff Hand Scott Benzel
Whitworth (WA) John Tully Rod Sandberg
Wilkes (PA) Frank Sheptock  

In NAIA, six jobs have come open at this time and all six have been filled as of Jan. 29.

School 2013 Coach 2014 Coach
Belhaven (MS) Joe Thrasher Hal Mumme
Cumberlands (KY) John Bland Matt Rhymer
Dickinson State (ND) Hank Biesiot Pete Stanton
Edward Waters College (FL)  Brad Bernard  Alvin Wyatt
Kansas Wesleyan Dave Dallas Matt Drinkall
McPherson College (KS) Pete Sterbick Steve Fox

 As always, if we missed anyone please let us know at [email protected].  

National columnist - Zach joined the staff in 2012...and has been attempting to improve Doug and Scott's writing ability ever since (to little avail). Outside of football season, you can find him watching the San Antonio Spurs reading Game of Thrones fan theories.