Skip to main content

Announcing the inaugural FootballScoop Video of the Year contest


If you're a regular reader of this site, you're know we're somewhat of a hub for great videos. Whether it be FBS, a smaller college or high school, we're usually posting at least one program's video per day. 

While the vast majority of videos are good, we've decided to take things one step further. We're going to turn the art of the hype video into a competitive sport. That's why, for the next two weeks, we're holding the inaugural FootballScoop Video of the Year contest. 

Here's how this will work: any football program in America is encouraged to send in one video per team- which can be either a motivational video or more of a highlight video - but keep in mind we're limiting it to one video per school, so give us your best shot. The emphasis here is on creativity, delivering your message and conveying the emotion in a well-produced video. Videos will be split into three categories - FBS, other colleges (FCS through NAIA), and high schools - and submissions are due by 5 p.m. Monday, July 15. We're limiting the scope to videos made as far back as January 2012. Feel free to send in your "2004 Biggest Hits - Linebackers" videos, but please understand that those won't make the cut. 

The FootballScoop staff will review all of the submissions and announce no more than five finalists per category on Wednesday, July 17. We'll then hand the process off to the finest panel of judges ever assembled for a football video of the year award. Knowing what a truly difficult decision lays at their feet, we'll give the panel the rest of the week to deliberate before announcing the winners on Monday, July 22. 

For our panel of judges we sought out some of the most knowledgeable folks in the business. You likely already read and watch a lot of what these guys contribute to the football community. If you're on Twitter, and you're not following all four of these guys, drop what you are doing and rectify that immediately (trust us on this, each is a great follow). 

The judges

Adam Kramer (aka @KegsnEggs


Lead college football writer for Bleacher Report and advocate of fat guy touchdowns.

 Andy Staples


 Senior writer for Sports Illustrated. One of the great story tellers of his generation. 

 Chris Brown (aka @SmartFootball)


 Editor of Smart Football, Grantland contributor & author of The Essential Smart Football

 Brian M Floyd


 Managing editor for SB Nation. A jedi master on Twitter. Learn from him. 

The judges will determine the awards based on the submissions. 

So if you think your school has the goods, find the staffer or coach responsible for your program's videos and tell them their hard work is about to pay off. 

What: Inaugural FootballScoop Video of the Year Contest
Who: Every football program in America (limit one video per school)
When: Submissions due by Monday, July 15
Where: Send embeddable videos links (i.e. Youtube or Vimeo) to, or on Twitter @FootballScoop