Skip to main content

David Cutcliffe wins ACC Coach of the Year

The ACC announced Tuesday it had awarded Duke's David Cutcliffe as the ACC Coach of the Year. Was there really other choice? Cutcliffe won the award going away, receiving 25 votes. Clemson's Dabo Swinney came in second with seven. Jimbo Fisher received five votes, Larry Fedora and Al Golden got four and the recently dismissed Tom O'Brien was the recipient of one vote.

“This honor is both humbling and rewarding because of the quality of the coaches in our conference,” Cutcliffe said in a prepared statement.

Cutcliffe led the Blue Devils to a 6-6 season, helping the Duke reach a bowl game for the first time since its current students were in diapers. Included among Duke's six wins were a 33-30 triumph over North Carolina, the Blue Devils' first win over its instate rival since 2003. Cutcliffe also kept his team in the race for the ACC championship into late November.

Cutcliffe is known for his work with quarterbacks (do Peyton and Eli Manning ring a bell?) and his work with Sean Renfree was evident, helping the senior rank among the ACC's top passers by connecting on 260-of-392 passes (66.3 percent) for 2,755 yards with 18 touchdowns and eight interceptions.