Publish date:

FCS Playoff bracket revealed

With the FCS playoff bracket now revealed, one question comes to mind.

Can anyone dethrone two-time defending champion North Dakota State?

To nobody's surprise, the Bison once again earned a top seed, while the other three top seeds include Eastern Illinois, Eastern Washington and Southeast Louisiana. In case you're not familiar, all one seeds receive a first round bye in the FCS format.

The bracket expanded to allow 24 teams in this season, up from the 20 that made the cut last year. 11 of those teams earned automatic bids. The FCS National Championship game will take place on January 4th in Frisco, TX.

Here's how the rest of the bracket shook out:

(November 30)

Furman (7-5) at South Carolina State (9-3)
Bethune-Cookman (10-2) at Coastal Carolina (10-2)
Lafayette (5-6) at New Hampshire (7-4)
Southern Utah (8-4) at Sam Houston State (8-4)
South Dakota State (8-4) at Northern Arizona (9-2)
Samford (8-4) at Jacksonville State (9-3)
Sacred Heart (10-2) at Fordham (11-1)
Tennessee State (9-3) at Butler (9-3)

(December 7)

Furman / South Carolina State winner at #1 North Dakota State (11-0)
Bethune-Cookman / Coastal Carolina winner at #8 Montana (10-2)
Lafayette / New Hampshire winner at Maine (10-2)
Southern Utah / Sam Houston State winner at Southeastern Louisiana (10-2)
South Dakota State / Northern Arizona winner at Eastern Washington (10-2)
Samford / Jacksonville State winner at McNeese State (10-2)
Sacred Heart / Fordham winner at Towson (10-2)
Tennessee State / Butler winner at Eastern Illinois (11-1)