Publish date:

NAIA playoff bracket

The NAIA playoff bracket can be seen below. Nine teams will look familiar from last season's bracket, when St. Xavier (Chicago, IL) took the national title home.

Interestingly enough, two conferences (the Mid-States Football Association Mideast Division and the Heart of America Athletic Conference) each landed three teams in the playoff bracket. St. Xavier, Marian, and St. Francis represent the MSFAE and Missouri Valley, MidAmerica Nazarene, and Baker represent the HAAC.

One perennial power that failed to make the cut was Carrol (MT), who failed to make it for the first time since 1999. The Fighting Saints had previously been a mainstay in the national championship game, appearing in 8 of the last 10 title games.

As you can see, there will be some quality match ups to see who has what it takes to bring home the hardware in 2012. Read more about the teams and the match ups here.

Game 1:

Bethel (Tenn.) (8-3) at Georgetown (Ky.) (10-0), 3:30 p.m.

Game 2:

Ottawa (Kan.) (8-2) at Missouri Valley (10-0), TBD



Game 3:

Montana Tech (8-2) at Morningside (Iowa) (10-0), 1 p.m.

Game 4:

William Penn (Iowa) (9-2) at Saint Xavier (Ill.) (9-1), 1 p.m.


Game 5:

Northwestern (Iowa) (9-2) at Marian (Ind.) (8-1), 1 p.m.

Game 6:

Baker (Kan.) (8-2) at Saint Francis (Ind.) (8-2), 12 p.m.


Game 7:

MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) (8-2) at Cumberlands (Ky.) (9-1), 12 p.m.

Game 8:

Southern Oregon (8-2) at Saint Ambrose (Iowa) (9-1), 1 p.m.