Only 6 of the 18 head coaches hired in 2008 are at the same school

Publish date:

Today, we saw an interesting note that prompted us to take a look back at the head coaching turnover before the 2008 college football season. 18 new head coaches were named prior to the 2008 season. Of those 18, only six are still in the same job today (4+ seasons later). 



Record / Where they are now


 Bobby Petrino

 Not currently coaching


 Art Briles


 Colorado State

 Steve Fairchild 

 Working with the San Diego Chargers


 David Cutcliffe 


 Georgia Tech 

 Paul Johnson 



 Greg McMackin



 Kevin Sumlin 

 Now at Texas A&M


 Rich Rodriguez 

 Now at Arizona


 Houston Nutt 

 Working for CBS Sports


 Ken Niumatalolo 



 Bo Pelini 


 Northern Illinois

 Jerry Kill 

 Now at Minnesota 


 June Jones 


 Southern Miss

 Larry Fedora 

 Now at North Carolina

 Texas A&M 

 Mike Sherman 

 Offensive coordinator - Dolphins


 Rick Neuheisel 

 Working with the Pac-12 Network

 Washington State 

 Paul Wulff 

 Offensive assistant with the 49ers 

 West Virginia

 Bill Stewart


Fairly surprising that just over 4 years later, only 33% of these guys were still in place. 

As you can see, of the head coaches still with their original school, Bo Pelini has accounted for the most wins (41). We saw an additional note from the Nebraska SID stating that Pelini is also one of only a handful (six) of other coaches to win at least 9 games in their first four seasons at a BCS level school (Tom Osborne, Frank Solich, Barry Switzer, Larry Coker & Bobby Petrino while at Louisville). Impressive.

This weekend, Pelini and the Huskers take on Wisconsin up at Camp Randall, and they'll be "spotlighting" some cool new shoes. The game can be see on ABC at 8pm ET.