Publish date:

The five finalists for the Broyles Award have been announced

The Broyles Award has narrowed it down to five finalists. This prestigious award has annually gone to the top assistant coach in the country. 

The finalists for 2013 are:

Pat Narduzzi - Michigan State defensive coordinator / assistant head coach
Rhett Lashlee - Auburn offensive coordinator / QB coach
Kurt Roper - Duke assistant head coach / offensive coordinator / QB coach 
Jeremy Pruitt - Florida State defensive coordinator / DB coach 
Philip Montgomery - Baylor offensive coordinator / quarterbacks coach

Winners of the award over the past five seasons include; Notre Dame's Bob Diaco (2012), LSU's John Chavis (2011), Auburn's Gus Malzahn (2010), Alabama's Kirby Smart (2009), and Oklahoma's Kevin Wilson (2008).

That's some pretty elite company. Two of the five winners from the past five seasons alone have moved on to head coaching position and the other three remain as some of the top coordinators in the country.

Our hats go off to each of these coaches for their hard work and success on the field and off. Each one of them is more than deserving of this recognition.

The winner will be announced December 10th.