Skip to main content
Publish date:

The College Football Playoff Selection Committee has been announced

We've previously maintained that it doesn't really matter who actually makes up the College Football Playoff Selection Committee - and stand by that today. But if you're Nick Saban, Urban Meyer, Les Miles, David Shaw, et al, it's still important to know the names of the people that will decide your professional fate in the coming future.

The College Football Playoff officially announced the 13-member committee on Wednesday and, while none of the names are a shock to those who have closely followed the process, we now know for sure these are the people who hold the fortunes of numerous programs and the flow of hundreds of million dollars through their collective hands:

- Arkansas athletics director Jeff Long (committee chairman)
- Wisconsin athletics director Barry Alvarez
- Former United States Air Force Academy superintendent Lieutenant General Mike Gould
- USC athletics director Pat Haden 
- Former NCAA executive vice president Tom Jernstedt
- West Virginia athletics director Oliver Luck
- Hall of Fame quarterback Archie Manning
- Former Nebraska head coach and athletics director Tom Osborne
- Clemson athletics director Dan Radakovich
- Former Stanford vice provost, former Secretary of State and current Stanford professor Condoleezza Rice
- Former Big East commissioner Mike Tranghese
- Former USA Today college football reporter Steve Wieberg
- Former Stanford, Notre Dame and Washington head coach Tyrone Willingham

"We wanted people of the highest integrity for this committee, and we got them. Every one of them has vast football knowledge, excellent judgment, dedication and love for this game," CFP executive director Bill Hancock said in a statement. "They will no doubt have one of the hardest jobs in sports. But their skills and wide variety of experiences from coaches and athletes to university leaders and journalists will ensure that they will be successful. And they are committed to investing the time and effort necessary for this endeavor. We are grateful that they will be serving this terrific game of college football."

In moving from the BCS to the Playoff, the powers that be now have the three biggest details - the money, the location and the committee, in that order - out of the way, they've now got to figure the selection committee's process. The who, what, when, where and why have been answered, but the Playoff is still a little fuzzy on the how. 

The statement says the committee will meet several times during the season, though they don't know when or exactly how many times they plan to meet. And, most importantly, they don't know exactly how they're going to measure what they're watching. Unlike the BCS, the release says, "selection committee members for the new playoff will have flexibility to examine whatever data they believe is relevant to inform their decisions."

That's not exactly what you want to hear but, as we said a few weeks ago, as long as the committee is consistent and transparent throughout the process, they'll do as good of a job as can possibly be done given their absolutely impossible task. 

As we said above, the weight of the power that sits between these 13 people is unlike anything else in sports. Make the playoff? Great, here's a bonus, and here's a multimillion-dollar donation. Miss the playoff too many years in a row? Thanks for your time, we'll see you on the other side.

Again, I have as much confidence in a committee structure as one can possibly have. The list of things this group has accomplished stretches from Autzen Stadium to the Swamp. Just be consistent.

That's, uh, not a great start. 

But as the countdown clock at the top of the College Football Playoff website states, they've got 441 days (and counting) to figure it out.