Skip to main content

Two coaches elected to College Football Hall of Fame

Two more coaches joined college football's ultimate shrine Tuesday as Wayne Hardin and Bill McCartney were chosen to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Coached by one of the true masters of the game, Hardin played for Amos Alonzo Stagg at Pacific before his retirement in 1946. Hardin carries the rare distinction of being the best coach in the history of two FBS programs. From 1959-64, Hardin led Navy to 38 wins, coached two Heisman Trophy winners and beat Army five times in his six seasons. The Midshipmen registered a No. 4 final ranking in 1960 and a No. 2 spot in 1963, concluding those seasons with trips to the Orange Bowl in 1960 and the Cotton Bowl after the 1963 season. 

Hardin then matriculated to Temple, where he became the Owls' all-time wins leader with 80 victories from 1970-82. His 1979 team became the first and only Temple squad to win 10 games, punctuated by a Garden State Bowl win over Cal and a No. 17 final ranking. In all, Hardin carried a 118-74-5 career record.

McCartney guided Colorado to its lone national championship in 1990 and won national Coach of the Year honors the year prior when he led the Buffaloes to an 11-1 record and a No. 4 national ranking. McCartney's career ended with a finishing kick most coaches can only wish for, with a 58-12-4 record (36-3-3 inside the Big 8) to go with three conference titles, three second place finishes, six top 20 rankings including a trio of top four final rankings, six bowl trips and the aforementioned national championship in his final six seasons. 

Whereas most life-long coaches close up shop with a dozen or more stops throughout their career, McCartney was fortunate enough to spend his college career at just two stops. He became the only high school coach hired by the legendary Bo Schembechler in1974, where he remained as an assistant until getting the head job at Colorado in 1982. In his 13 seasons leading the Buffaloes, McCartney totaled a 93-55-5 career record.

Hardin and McCartney are joined in the 2013 College Football Hall of Fame Class by Ted Brown (N.C. State), Tedy Bruschi (Arizona), Ron Dayne (Wisconsin), Tommie Frazier (Nebraska), Jerry Gray (Texas), Steve Meilinger (Kentucky), Orlando Pace (Ohio State), the late Rod Shoate (Oklahoma), Percy Snow (Michigan State), Vinny Testaverde (Miami), Don Trull (Baylor) and Danny Wuerffel (Florida). 

A sincere congratulations are in order to both coaches, their families and the Navy, Temple and Colorado programs. Tomorrow, we'll take a gander at what College Football Hall of Fame coaching classes may look like in the future.