Publish date:

These 16 teams remain in contention for the FCS national title

This past Saturday marked the beginning of the 32-team FCS Playoff, and with Monday now here, 16 teams remain standing.

Here's where things stand:

Stony Brook defeated Lehigh 59-29
Stony Brook moves on to play #1 James Madison

Weber State defeated Western Illinois 21-19
Weber State moves on to play #8 Southern Utah

Kennesaw State defeated Samford 28-17
Kennesaw State moves on to play #3 Jacksonville State

South Dakota defeated Nicholls State 38-31
South Dakota moves on to play #6 Sam Houston State

Northern Iowa defeated Monmouth 46-7
UNI moves on to play #5 South Dakota State

New Hampshire defeated Central Connecticut State 14-0
New Hampshire moves on to play #4 Central Arkansas

Furman defeated Elon 28-27
Furman moves on to play #7 Wofford

San Diego defeated Northern Arizona 41-10
San Diego moves on take on #2 North Dakota State

Defending national champs James Madison, as well as North Dakota State (who won five titles in a row under two different head coaches before getting knocked off by JMU last season), Southern Utah, Jacksonville State, Sam Houston State, South Dakota State, Central Arkansas, and Wofford all enjoyed first round byes.

Second round games will take place between 2pm and 8pm this Saturday.

Following this week's games, the FCS quarterfinals will take place December 8th and 9th, followed by the semifinals on the 15th and 16th. The national title game will be played in Frisco, TX January 6th.