Consider this page your one-stop shop for coaching changes at every level of football – NFL, NCAA and NAIA – throughout the winter, so check back frequently. For your reference, here are our lists of coaching changes from the 2012-13, and 2013-2014 hiring seasons.


In the NFL, seven head coaching jobs have come open as of January 15 and six have been filled. There were seven coaching changes in the NFL following the 2013 season.

Team 2014 Coach 2015 Coach
Atlanta Falcons Mike Smith  Dan Quinn
Buffalo Bills Doug Marrone Rex Ryan
Chicago Bears Marc Trestman John Fox
Denver Broncos John Fox Gary Kubiak
New York Jets Rex Ryan Todd Bowles
Oakland Raiders Dennis Allen Jack Del Rio
San Francisco 49ers Jim Harbaugh Jim Tomsula


At the FBS level, a total of 15 jobs have come open and all have been filled as of Feb. 6.

As a point of reference, here are the number of coaching changes following the last six seasons: 22 (2008), 23 (2009), 24 (2010), 28 (2011), 31 (2012), 20 (2013).

School 2014 Coach 2015 Coach
Buffalo Jeff Quinn Lance Leipold
Central Michigan Dan Enos John Bonamego
Colorado State Jim McElwain Mike Bobo
Florida Will Muschamp Jim McElwain
Houston Tony Levine Tom Herman
Kansas Charlie Weis David Beaty
Michigan Brady Hoke Jim Harbaugh
Nebraska Bo Pelini Mike Riley
Oregon State Mike Riley Gary Andersen
Pittsburgh Paul Chryst Pat Narduzzi
SMU June Jones Chad Morris
Troy Larry Blakeney Neal Brown
UNLV Bobby Hauck Tony Sanchez
Tulsa Bill Blankenship Philip Montgomery
Wisconsin Gary Andersen Paul Chryst


At the FCS level, 17 head coaching positions have come open and all seventeen have been filled as of late February.

School 2014 Coach 2015 Coach
Alabama State Reggie Barlow Brian Jenkins
Bethune-Cookman Brian Jenkins Terry Sims
Columbia Pete Mangurian Al Bagnoli
Delaware State Kermit Blount Kenny Carter
Florida A&M Earl Holmes Alex Wood
Penn Al Bagnoli Ray Priore
Prairie View A&M Heishma Northern Willie Simmons
Missouri State Terry Allen Dave Steckel
Montana Mick Delaney Bob Stitt
Murray State Chris Hatcher Mitch Stewart
Nicholls State Charlie Stubbs Tim Rebowe
Norfolk State Pete Adrian Latrell Scott
Portland State Nigel Burton Bruce Barnum
Samford Pat Sullivan Chris Hatcher
VMI Sparky Woods Scott Wachenheim
Wagner Walt Hameline Jason Houghtaling
Youngstown State Eric Wolford Bo Pelini


In Division II, 18 head coaching positions have opened and 14 have been filled as of April 12th.

School 2014 Coach 2015 Coach
Adams State (CO) Marty Heaton Timm Rosenbach
Albany State (GA) Mike White
Benedict College (SC) James Woody Mike White
Clarion (PA) Jay Foster Chris Weibel
Clark-Atlanta (GA) Kevin Weston Kevin Ramsey
Colorado School of Mines Bob Stitt Gregg Brandon
Johnson C. Smith (NC) Steven Aycock
Lane College (TN) Malik Hoskins (interim) Derrick Burroughs
Lock Haven (PA) John Allen Dave Taynor
Nebraska-Kearney Darrell Morris Josh Lamberson
New Mexico Highlands Eric Young Jeff Mills
Northwestern Oklahoma State Alan Hall Matt Walter
St. Augustine (NC) Michael Costa Michael Morand
St. Joseph’s College (IN) Cory Sanders Daniel Day
Texas A&M-Kingsville David Calloway Daren Wilkinson
Urbana (OH) Dave Taynor Tyler Haines
Virginia State Latrell Scott Byron Thweatt
William Jewell (MO) Jerod Kruse Shawn Weigel


At the Division III level, 16 schools have announced a coaching change and thirteen have been filled as of Jan. 21.

School 2014 Coach 2015 Coach
Alfred State (NY) Mick Caba Jarod Dodson
Anderson (IN) Bobby Ladner John Sala
Augustana (IL) Rob Cushman Steve Bell
Bowdoin (ME) Dave Caputi JB Wells
Earlham (IN) Neil Kazmierczak Nick Johnson
Endicott (MA) JB Wells Kevin DeWall
Lakeland (WI) Kevin Doherty Colin Bruton
Lawrence (WI) Mike Barthelmess Rob McCarthy
Lewis and Clark (OR) Chris Sulages Jay Locey
Minnesota-Morris Todd Hickman Robert Cushman
Monmouth (IL) Steve Bell Chad Braun
Rockford College (IL) Vic Wallace Jim Schroeder
St. Norbert (WI) Steve Opgenorth Dan McCarty
Trine (IN) Matt Land Troy Abbs
UW-Whitewater Lance Leipold Kevin Bullis
Wesleyan (CT) Mike Whalen Dan DiCenzo


In NAIA, ten jobs have opened, and seven jobs have been filled as of Jan. 15.

School 2014 Coach 2015 Coach
Bacone (OK) Trevor Rubly Lawrence Livingston
Bethany (KS) Manny Matsakis Paul Hubbard
Bethel Martin Mathis Morris Lolar
Kentucky Christian Gene Peterson Steve Barrows
Montana State-Northern Mark Samson Aaron Christensen
McPherson (KS) Steve Fox Paul Mierkiewicz
Pikeville (KY) Allan Holland Jr. Allan Holland Jr.*
Southwestern (KS) Ken Crandall Brad Griffin
Southwestern Assemblies of God (TX) Jesse Godding Frank Tristan
Texas College Rodney Blackshear Gregory Ruffin

(At Pikeville, Allan Holland Jr. started the season as the interim head coach, and was promoted to the full time post in early October)

As always, if we missed anyone please let us know at 225.229.3429, [email protected], or via Twitter (DM if you’d like) @FootballScoop.


For all of the latest news be sure to check The Scoop daily twice a day hourly.

Content manager - Doug took the reins in 2011 and the website has been better ever since. A former college player and small college coach, Doug now serves as the head coach at Comstock Park HS (MI).