Skip to main content

2015-16 Head Coaching Changes

It's that time of year again, friends. With the coaching carousel now in full spin, we've created the 2015-16 coaching changes page.

Consider this your one-stop shop for coaching changes at every level of football – NFL, NCAA and NAIA – throughout the fall and winter, so check back frequently. For your reference, here are the lists of changes for the 2012-13, 2013-14 and 2014-15 seasons.

In the NFL, seven jobs have come open as of January 6. All seven have been filled. There were seven changes following the 2014 season.


2015 Coach

2016 Coach

Cleveland Browns

Mike Pettine

Hue Jackson

Miami Dolphins

Joe Philbin

Adam Gase

New York Giants

Tom Coughlin

Ben McAdoo

Philadelphia Eagles

Chip Kelly

Doug Pederson

San Francisco 49ers

Jim Tomsula

Chip Kelly

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Lovie Smith

Dirk Koetter

Tennessee Titans

Ken Whisenhunt

Mike Mularkey

In FBS, 28 jobs have come open and all 28 have been filled as of January 24th. Number of changes over the past seven seasons: 22 (2008), 23 (2009), 24 (2010), 28 (2011), 31 (2012), 20 (2013), and 15 (2014)


2015 Coach

2016 Coach

Ball State

Pete Lembo

Mike Neu

Bowling Green

Dino Babers

 Mike Jinks


Bronco Mendenhall

Kalani Sitake

Central Florida

George O'Leary

Scott Frost

East Carolina

Ruffin McNeill

Scottie Montgomery


Mark Richt

Kirby Smart

Georgia Southern

Willie Fritz

Tyson Summers


Norm Chow

 Nick Rolovich


Tim Beckman / Bill Cubit

Lovie Smith

Iowa State

Paul Rhoads

Matt Campbell


Todd Berry

Matt Viator


Randy Edsall

 D.J. Durkin


Justin Fuente

 Mike Norvell


Al Golden

Mark Richt


Jerry Kill

Tracy Claeys


Gary Pinkel

 Barry Odom

North Texas

Dan McCarney

Seth Littrell


Kyle Flood

Chris Ash

South Carolina

Steve Spurrier

 Will Muschamp

Southern Miss

Todd Monken

Jay Hopson


Scott Shafer

Dino Babers

Texas State

Dennis Franchione

 Everett Withers


Matt Campbell

 Jason Candle


Curtis Johnson

Willie Fritz


Steve Sarkisian

Clay Helton


Larry Coker

Frank Wilson


Mike London

Bronco Mendenhall

Virginia Tech

Frank Beamer

Justin Fuente

In FCS, 19 jobs have come open as of February 9th and 17 have been filled. A total of 17 schools changed coaches after the 2014 season.


2015 Coach

2016 Coach

Alcorn State

Jay Hopson

Fred McNair

Austin Peay

Kirby Cannon

Will Healy


Mike Houston

Brent Thompson

Eastern Kentucky

Dean Hood

Mark Elder


Joe Moorhead

Andrew Breiner

Jackson State

Harold Jackson

Tony Hughes


Kerwin Bell

 Ian Shields

James Madison

Everett Withers

Mike Houston


Jack Cosgrove

Joe Harasymiak

McNeese State

Matt Viator

Lance Guidry

Montana State

Rob Ash

 Jeff Choate

Morgan State

Lee Hull

Fred Farrier

Savannah State

Earnest Wilson III

Erik Raeburn

South Dakota

Joe Glenn

Bob Nielson

Southern Illinois

Dale Lennon

Nick Hill

Southern Utah

Ed Lamb

Demario Warren

Tennessee Tech

Watson Brown

Marcus Satterfield

Texas Southern

Darrell Asberry

Mike Haywood

Western Illinois

Bob Nielson

Charlie Fisher

In Division II, 25 jobs have come open and 24 have been filled as of May 9th. Eighteen schools changed coaches after the 2014 season.


2015 Coach

2016 Coach

Albany State (GA)

Dan Land*

Dan Land

California (PA)

Mike Kellar

Gary Dunn

Concord (WV)

Garin Justice

 Paul Price

Concordia St. Paul (MN)

Ryan Williams

Shannon Currier

Edinboro (PA)

Scott Browning

Justin Lustig

Elizabeth City State (NC)

Waverly Tiller

 Earnest Wilson III

Fayetteville State (NC)

Lawrence Kershaw

Richard Hayes

Fort Lewis (CO)

John L. Smith

 Ed Rifilato

Kentucky State

Josh Dean

John L. Smith

Lenoir-Rhyne (NC)

Ian Shields

 Mike Kellar

Limestone (SC)

Bobby James

Mike Furrey

Shaw (NC)

Robert Massey

Adrian Jones

Shorter (GA)

Phil Jones

Aaron Kelton

Slippery Rock (PA)

George Mihalik

Shawn Lutz

Southern Nazarene (OK)

Mike Cochran

Andy Lambert

Southwest Baptist

Robert Clardy**

Robert Clardy

St. Anselm (NH)

Patrick Murphy

Joe Adam

St. Augustine's (NC)

Michael Morend

Tim Chavous

Stonehill (MA)

Robert Talley

Tarleton State (TX)

Cary Fowler

Todd Whitten

Tusculum (TN)

Frankie DeBusk

Jerry Odom

Valdosta State (GA)

David Dean

Kerwin Bell

Virginia State

Byron Thweatt

Reggie Barlow


Dewey Lusk

Dane Damron

West Virginia Wesleyan

George Shehl

Del Smith

*Land led the team to a 6-4 mark in 2015 as the interim head coach and was promoted to the full-time role in late April
**Clardy was promoted from interim head coach to the permanent role

In Division III, 32 changes has been announced as of May 9th. All 32 have been filled. There were 16 changes following the 2014 season.


2015 Coach

2016 Coach

Allegheny College (PA)

Mark Matlak*

BJ Hammer

Becker (MA)

Mike Lichten

Frank Forcucci

Benedictine (IL)

Jon Cooper

Josiah Sears

Capital (OH)

Craig Candeto

Chad Rogosheske

Defiance (OH)

Brian Sheehan

Casey Goff

Ferrum (VA)

Dave Harper

Rob Grande

Greensboro (NC)

Bill Young

Greg Crum

Grove City (KY)

Chris Smith

Andrew DiDonato

Hamline (MN)

Charles Taylor

Chad Rogosheske

Hanover (IN)

Steve Baudendistel

 Matt Theobald

Heidelberg (OH)

Mike Hallett

Scott Donaldson

Hiram (OH)

Randy Moore

Henry Stanford

Hope (MI)

Dean Kreps

Pete Stuursma

Howard Payne (TX)

Roger Geise

Hunter Sims

Illinois College

Garrett Campbell

Ray DeFrisco

Iowa Wesleyan (IA)

Tom Parkevich

Mike Richtman

Lebanon Valley (PA)

Jim Monos

Joe Buehler

Manchester (IN)

Shannon Griffith

Nate Jensen

McDaniel College (MD)

Michael Hoyt

Mike Dailey

Methodist (NC)

CJ Goss

Keven Williams

Millikin (IL)

Patrick Etherton

Dan Gritti

Rhodes (TN)

Dan Gritti

Jim Ryan

Simpson (IA)

Jim Glogowski

Matt Jeter

Southern Virginia

Jason Walker

Joe DuPaix

Springfield (MA)

Mike DeLong

Mike Cerasuolo

St. Lawrence (NY)

Mark Raymond

 Dan Puckhaber

Thiel College (PA)

Kurt Reiser

Dan Blume

Williams College (MA)

Aaron Kelton

Mark Raymond

Union College (NY)

John Audino

Jeff Behrman

UW-Eau Claire

Todd Glaser

Dan Larson

UW-La Crosse

Joel Dettwiler

Mike Schmidt

Wabash (IN)

Erik Raeburn

Don Morel

Whittier (CA)

Todd Stratton

Mike Neale

* - retirement effective at end of season

In NAIA, 13 jobs have come open as of November 23. All 13 have been filled as of February 9th. Ten jobs opened after the 2014 season.


2015 Coach

2016 Coach

Arizona Christian

Donnie Yantis

Jeff Bowen

Ave Maria (FL)

Marty Quinn

Joe Patterson

Central Methodist (MO)

Jody Ford

David Calloway

Dordt (IA)

Greg Youngblood

 Joel Penner

Evangel (MO)

Brenton Illum

Chuck Hepola

Jamestown (ND)

Shawn Frank

Josh Kittell

Langston (OK)

Dwone Sanders

 Quinton Morgan

Midland (NE)

Josh Gehring

Jeff Jamrog

Montana Western

BJ Robertson

Ryan Nourse

Northwestern (IA)

Kyle Achterhoff

Matt McCarty

Olivet Nazarene (IL)

Brian Fish

Eric Hehman

Rocky Mountain College (MT)

Brian Armstrong

 Jason Petrino

Sterling (KS)

Andy Lambert

Chuck Lambert

As always, if we missed anyone please let us know at 225.229.3429,, or via Twitter (DM if you’d like) @FootballScoop.