Skip to main content

2015 FBS Coach of the Year awards - Finalists


FootballScoop proudly announces the FBS Coach of the Year awards finalists. In its eighth year, the FootballScoop Coach of the Year awards presented by ProGrass are the only set of coaching awards chosen entirely by their peers -- coaches must be nominated by a fellow coach to be eligible for an award and winners are chosen by the prior winners of each award.

The FootballScoop Coach of the Year awards program honors a total of 17 coaches, recognizing outstanding work done by FBS coordinators and position coaches, divisional coordinators and essential FBS support staff. The divisional coordinator and FBS support staff finalists will be announced later this week.

This year's FBS finalists class honors 45 separate coaches from 26 programs and eight conferences. Winners will be announced throughout the month and will receive their awards and be recognized at the AFCA convention in San Antonio in January.

Offensive Coordinator
- Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma
- Seth Littrell, North Carolina
- Chip Lindsey, Southern Miss
- Tyson Helton, Western Kentucky

Defensive Coordinator
- Brent Venables, Clemson
- Gene Chizik, North Carolina
- Kirby Smart, Alabama
- Don Brown, Boston College

Quarterbacks Coach
- Mike Sanford, Notre Dame
- Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma
- Kendal Briles, Baylor
- Darin Hinshaw, Cincinnati
- Sean Lewis, Bowling Green
- Brandon Streeter, Clemson

Running Backs Coach
- Deland McCullough, Indiana
- Jay Graham, Florida State
- Andre Powell, Pittsburgh
- Lance Taylor, Stanford

Wide Receivers Coach
- Tate Wallis, Baylor
- Matt Simon, Western Michigan
- Calvin Lowry, Tulsa

Offensive Line Coach
- Tom Manning, Toledo
- Bill Bedenbaugh, Oklahoma
- Mike Bloomgren, Stanford
- Mario Cristobal, Alabama

Defensive Line Coach
- Dan Brooks/Marion Hobby, Clemson
- Bo Davis, Alabama
- Ben Albert, Boston College
- Larry Johnson, Ohio State
- Sean Spencer, Penn State

Linebackers Coach
- Don Brown, Boston College
- Barry Odom, Missouri
- Brian Ward, Bowling Green
- Dave Aranda/Tim Tibesear, Wisconsin

Defensive Backs Coach
- Phil Parker, Iowa
- Kerry Cooks, Oklahoma
- Mike Reed, Clemson
- Daronte Jones, Wisconsin
- Kirk Callahan, Florida

Special Teams Coordinator
- Kelly Poppinga, BYU
- Ed Foley, Temple
- Jay Boulware, Oklahoma
- Sean Snyder, Kansas State


ProGrass LLC, headquartered in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, has established itself as one of the preeminent names in the synthetic turf industry. ProGrass installations can be located from Connecticut to California. The ProGrass product has been received as "One of the Best Products on the Market" by many customers who have spent years evaluating this industry. The reason is simple: we know the industry and have developed the TEAM, the products and processes that exceed the expectations of our demanding and knowledgeable customers. We don’t just sell turf, we know turf! For more information please visit:

Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has long been the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, strength & conditioning coaches, operations and equipment staff across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing first hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings.