Publish date:

2016-17 College & NFL Head Coaching Changes

With the coaching carousel once again underway, we've created the 2016-17 coaching changes page.

Consider this your one-stop shop for coaching changes at every level of football – NFL, NCAA and NAIA – throughout the fall and winter, so check back frequently. For your reference, here are the lists of changes for the 2012-13, 2013-142014-15 and 2015-16 seasons.

In the NFL, six jobs have come open and all six have been filled as of early February. There were seven changes following the 2015 season.


2016 Coach

2017 Coach

Buffalo Bills

Rex Ryan

Sean McDermott

Denver Broncos

Gary Kubiak

 Vance Joseph

Los Angeles Rams

Jeff Fisher

Sean McVay

Jacksonville Jaguars

Gus Bradley

Doug Marrone

San Diego Chargers

Mike McCoy

Anthony Lynn

San Francisco 49ers

Chip Kelly

Kyle Shanahan

In FBS, 21 jobs have come open as of Jan. 14; 21 have been filled. Number of changes over the past seven seasons: 22 (2008), 23 (2009), 24 (2010), 28 (2011), 31 (2012), 20 (2013), 15 (2014) and 29 (2015).


2016 Coach

2017 Coach


Jim Grobe (I)

Matt Rhule


Sonny Dykes

Justin Wilcox


Tommy Tuberville

Luke Fickell


Bob Diaco

Randy Edsall

Florida Atlantic

Charlie Partridge

 Lane Kiffin

Florida International

Ron Turner

Butch Davis

Fresno State

Tim DeRuyter

Jeff Tedford

Georgia State

Trent Miles

Shawn Elliott


Tom Herman

Major Applewhite


Kevin Wilson

Tom Allen


Les Miles

Ed Orgeron


Tracy Claeys

PJ Fleck


Brian Polian

Jay Norvell


Mark Helfrich

Willie Taggart


Darrell Hazell

Jeff Brohm

San Jose State

Ron Caragher

Brent Brennan

South Florida

Willie Taggart

Charlie Strong


Matt Rhule

Geoff Collins


Charlie Strong

 Tom Herman

Western Kentucky

Jeff Brohm

Mike Sanford

Western Michigan

PJ Fleck

Tim Lester

In FCS, 15 jobs have come open as of April 24th, and all 15 have been filled. A total of 19 schools changed coaches after the 2015 season.


2016 Coach

2017 Coach

Abilene Christian

Ken Collums

 Adam Dorrel


Marty Fine

James Perry


Russ Huesman

Tom Arth


Dave Brock

Danny Rocco

Eastern Washington

Beau Baldwin

Aaron Best


Rich Skrosky

Curt Cignetti


Bruce Fowler

Clay Hendrix


Gary Harrell

Mike London

Idaho State

Mike Kramer

 Ron Phenicie

Indiana State

Mike Sanford

Curt Mallory


Frank Tavani

John Garrett


Ray Woodard

Mike Schultz


Harold Nichols

Tommy Spangler


Danny Rocco

Russ Huesman

UC Davis

Ron Gould

Dan Hawkins

In Division II, 26 jobs have opened; 25 have been filled as of May 3rd. Twenty-five schools changed coaches after the 2015 season.


2016 Coach

2017 Coach

Albany State (GA)

Dan Land

Gabe Giardina

Alderson Broaddus (WV)

Dennis Creehan

Kirk Campbell

Carson-Newman (TN)

Ken Sparks

Mike Turner

Bemidji State (MN)

Brent Bolte (I)

Brent Bolte

Davenport (MI)

Lou Esposito

Sparky McEwen

Eastern New Mexico

Josh Lynn

 Kelley Lee

Edinboro (PA)

Justin Lustig

Wayne Bradford (I)

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Curt Cignetti

Paul Tortorella

Lake Erie (OH)

Mark McNellie

Gerald Hazzard*

Lincoln (MO)

Mike Jones

Steven Smith

Lindenwood (MO)

Pat Ross

Jed Stugart

Glenville State (WV)

David Hutchison

Eric Smith

Michigan Tech

Tom Kearly

Steve Olson


Mike Fritze

Mark Dufner

Minot State (ND)

Tyler Hughes

Mike Aldrich

Missouri Western

Jerry Partridge

Matt Williamson


Josh Lamberson

Josh Lynn

North Alabama

Bobby Wallace

Chris Willis

Northern Michigan

Chris Ostrowsky

Kyle Nystrom

Northwest Missouri State

Adam Dorrel

Rich Wright

Quincy (IL)

Tom Pajic

Sioux Falls (SD)

Jed Stugart

 Jon Anderson

Walsh (OH)

Ted Karras

Dan Pifer

West Texas A&M

Mike Nesbitt

Hunter Hughes

West Georgia

Will Hall

 David Dean

West Virginia State

Jon Anderson

John Pennington

*Hazzard, who previously served as the interim head coach, takes over for Jeff Horrocks, who led the program from December 29th - February 7th before being let go.

In Division III, 25 schools are looking for coaches as of March 6; 23 have been filled so far. There were 32 changes following the 2015 season.


2016 Coach

2017 Coach

Alvernia (PA)^


Ralph Clark

Anna Maria (MA)

Vincent Signira

Dan Mulrooney

Baldwin Wallace (OH)

John Snell

Jim Hilvert

Brevard (NC)

Paul Hamilton

Bill Khayat

Birmingham Southern (AL)

Eddie Garfinkle

Tony Joe White

Bridgewater State (MA)

Joe Verria (I)

Joe Verria

Buena Vista (IA)

Jay Anderson

Grant Mollring

Catholic (Washington, DC)

Bill Bachman (I)

Mike Gutelius

Christopher Newport (VA)

Matt Kelchner

 Art Link

Dickinson (PA)

Darwin Breaux

Brad Forsyth

East Texas Baptist

Scotty Walden

Scott Highsmith

Howard Payne (TX)

Hunter Sims

Braxton Harris

Ithaca College (NY)*

Mike Welch

Dan Swanstrom

John Carroll (OH)

Tom Arth

 Rick Finotti

LaGrange (GA)

Matt Mumme

Steve Pardue

Louisiana College

Dennis Dunn

Methodist (NC)

Keven Williams (I)

Keven Williams

Mount Union (OH)

Rod Huber

Tyler Hopperton (I)

Olivet (MI)

Dan Pifer

Dan Musielewicz

Pomona Pitzer (CA)

Roger Caron

John Walsh


Tommy Laurendine

 Travis Rundle

St. Olaf (MN)

Craig Stern

Jame Kilian

Texas Lutheran

Danny Padron

 Carl Gustafson

Waynesburg (PA)

Rich Shepas

Wilmington (OH)

Stacey Hairston

Bryan Moore

In NAIA, thirteen coaching changes have taken place as of March 10. All have been filled. Thirteen jobs opened after the 2015 season.


2016 Coach

2017 Coach

Bluefield College (VA)

Ordell Walker

Dewey Lusk

Briar Cliff (IA)

Tom Rethman

Dennis Wagner

Concordia (NE)

Vance Winter

Patrick Daberkow

Culver-Stockton (MO)

Jeff Duvendeck

 Tom Sallay

Friends (KS)

Monty Lewis

Dion Meneley

Kentucky Christian

Steve Barrows

Corey Fipps

Lawrence Tech (MI)


Jeff Duvendeck

Lindenwood-Belleville (IL)

Dale Carlson

Kevin Turco

Mayville State (ND)

John Haines

Sean Thom

Reinhardt (GA)

Drew Cronic

James Miller

Siena Heights (MI)

Matt Kohn (I)

Matt Kohn

Southern Oregon

Craig Howard

Charlie Hall

Texas College

Greg Ruffin

Charles Moss

Union (KY)

Zak Willis

Andre Linn

(I) denotes that the coach spent the 2016 season as the interim
(^) denotes that the school officially announced its football program on Oct. 5
(*) denotes coach announced retirement before the season
(n) denotes a new program

As always, if we missed anyone please let us know at 225.229.3429,, or via Twitter (DM if you’d like) @FootballScoop.