With the coaching carousel once again underway, we’ve created the 2017-18 coaching changes page.

Consider this your one-stop shop for coaching changes at every level of football – NFL, NCAA and NAIA – throughout the fall and winter, so check back frequently. For your reference, here are the lists of changes for the 2012-13, 2013-142014-15, 2015-16, and the 2016-2017 seasons.

There have been seven coaching changes at the NFL level through Jan. 21, and all of them have been filled as of Feb. 11. Last year, six jobs came open. There were seven changes following the 2015 season.

Team 2017 Coach 2018 Coach
Arizona Cardinals Bruce Arians Steve Wilks
Chicago Bears John Fox Matt Nagy
Detroit Lions Jim Caldwell Matt Patricia
Indianapolis Colts Chuck Pagano Frank Reich
New York Giants Ben McAdoo  Pat Shurmur
Tennessee Titans Mike Mularkey Mike Vrabel
Oakland Raiders Jack Del Rio Jon Gruden

In FBS, 21 jobs have opened as of Jan. 2 and all 21 have been filled. Number of changes over the past seven seasons: 22 (2008), 23 (2009), 24 (2010), 28 (2011), 31 (2012), 20 (2013), 15 (2014) and 29 (2015), 21 (2016).

Team 2017 Coach 2018 Coach
Arizona Rich Rodriguez Kevin Sumlin
Arizona State Todd Graham  Herm Edwards
Arkansas Bret Bielema Chad Morris
Florida Jim McElwain Dan Mullen
Florida State Jimbo Fisher Willie Taggart
Georgia Southern Tyson Summers Chad Lunsford
Kent State Paul Haynes Sean Lewis
Louisiana-Lafayette Mark Hudspeth Billy Napier
Mississippi State Dan Mullen Joe Moorhead
Nebraska Mike Riley Scott Frost
Ole Miss Matt Luke (I) Matt Luke
Oregon Willie Taggart Mario Cristobal
Oregon State Gary Andersen Jonathan Smith
Rice David Bailiff  Mike Bloomgren
SMU Chad Morris Sonny Dykes
South Alabama Joey Jones  Steve Campbell
Tennessee Butch Jones Jeremy Pruitt
Texas A&M Kevin Sumlin Jimbo Fisher
UCF Scott Frost Josh Heupel
UCLA Jim Mora Chip Kelly
UTEP Sean Kugler Dana Dimel

In FCS, 24 jobs have come open and all jobs have now been filled. Fifteen jobs came open during the 2016 off season, and a total of 19 schools changed coaches after the 2015 season.

Team 2017 Coach 2018 Coach
Alabama A&M James Spady Connell Maynor
Alabama State Brian Jenkins Donald Hill-Eley
Arkansas-Pine Bluff Monte Coleman  Cedric Thomas
Central Arkansas Steve Campbell Nathan Brown
Davidson Paul Nichols Scott Abell
Delaware State Kenneth Carter Rod Milstead
East Tennessee State Carl Torbush Randy Sanders
Florida A&M Alex Wood Willie Simmons
Fordham Andrew Breiner Joe Conlin
Hampton Connell Maynor  Robert Prunty
Holy Cross  Tom Gilmore Bob Chesney
Incarnate Word Larry Kennan Eric Morris
Mississippi Valley State Rick Comegy Vincent Dancy
Montana Bob Stitt Bobby Hauck
Morgan State Fred Farrier Ernest Jones (I)
North Carolina A&T Rod Broadway  Sam Washington
North Carolina Central Jerry Mack Granville Eastman (I)
Northwestern State Jay Thomas Brad Laird
Prairie View A&M Willie Simmons Eric Dooley
Robert Morris John Banaszak Bernard Clark
Southeastern Louisiana Ron Roberts Frank Scelfo
Tennessee Tech Marcus Satterfield  Dewayne Alexander
Western Illinois Charlie Fisher Jared Elliott
Wofford Mike Ayers  Josh Conklin

Fifteen schools have made changes in Division II, and all 15 have been filled. Twenty-six jobs opened at the D-II level after last season.

Team 2017 Coach 2018 Coach
Adams State (CO) Timm Rosenbach Josh Blakenship
Assumption (MA) Bob Chesney Andy McKenzie
East Central (OK) Tim McCarty Al Johnson
Humboldt State (CA) Rob SMith Damaro Wheeler (I)
Lenoir-Rhyne (NC) Mike Kellar Drew Cronic
Limestone (SC) Mike Furrey  Tony Ierulli
Lincoln (PA) Reginald Byarse Jr. (I) Josh Dean
Millersville (PA) Greg Breitbach J.C. Morgan
Mary (ND) Josh Kotelnicki Craig Bagnell
Shorter (GA) Aaron Kelton Zach Morrison
Simon Fraser (BC) Kelly Bates Thomas Ford
Southwestern Oklahoma State Dan Cocannouer*  Chet Pobolish
Virginia Union Mark James Dr. Alvin Parker
Walsh (OH) Dan Pifer John Fankhauser
Western New Mexico Adam Clark Frank Tristan

Twenty-five schools at the Division III level have announced a change and 24 vacancies have been filled as of April 25. In Division III, 25 schools hired new head coaches after last year.

Team 2017 Coach 2018 Coach
Alma (MI) Greg Psconda  Jason Couch
Alfred State (NY) Jarod Dodson Scott Linn
Anderson (IN) John Sala Steve Rock
Bates (ME) Mark Harriman Malik Hall
Belhaven (MS) Hal Mumme Blaine McCorkle
Benedictine (IL) Josiah Sears
Carleton (MN) Bob Pagel Tom Journell
Colby College (ME) Jonathan Michaeles  Jack Cosgrove
Defiance (OH) Aaron Mershman
Endicott (MA) Kevin DeWall Paul McGonagle
Finlandia (MI) Tim Driscoll Rob Boss
Gettysburg (PA) Barry Streeter  Kevin Burke
Luther (IA) Aaron Hafner Caleb Padilla
Minnesota-Morris Marty Hoffman & Matt Johnson (c) Marty Hoffman
MIT (MA) Chad Martinovich  Brian Bubna
Muhlenberg (PA) Mike Donnelly# Nate Milne
Muskingum (OH) Al Logan Erik Ieuter
Pacific Lutheran (WA) Scott Westering  Brant McAdams
Rochester (NY) Scott Greene* Chad Martinovich
Southern Virginia Joe DuPaix Edwin Mulitalo
St. Scholastica (MN) Kurt Ramler George Penree (I)
Thomas More (KY)  Regis Scafe* Trevor Stellman
Wilkes (PA) Trey Brown Jon Drach
William Paterson (NJ) Jerry Flora Dustin Johnson
Wisconsin-Stevens Point Tom Journell Greg Breitbach

There have been ten NAIA coaching changes as of March 8th. All but one have been filled. Last off season, 13 NAIA coaching changes took place.

Team 2017 Coach 2018 Coach
Bethel (KS) Morris Lolar Terry Harrison
Bethel (TN) Chris Elliott Brent Dearmon
Cumberland (TN) Donnie Suber Tim Mathis
Faulkner (AL) Charlie Boren Shayne Wasden
Finlandia (MI) Rob Boss
Lyon (AR) Kyle Phelps Casey Creehan
MidAmerica Nazarene (KS) Brian Willmer
Montana State-Northern  Aaron Christensen Andrew Rolin
Sterling (KS) Chuck Lambert Chase Hansen
Trinity International (IL) Kirk Wherritt Lamont Butler

(I) denotes that the coach has, or will lead the team as an interim head coach
(*) denotes coach announced retirement before the season
(#) denotes coach passed away
(n) denotes a new program
(c) denotes co-head coaches

As always, if we missed anyone please let us know at 225.229.3429, [email protected], or via Twitter (DM if you’d like) @FootballScoop.

Content manager - Doug took the reins in 2011 and the website has been better ever since. A former college player and small college coach, Doug now serves as the head coach at Comstock Park HS (MI).