Skip to main content

2018 Coach of the Year finalists: Divisional/Off-the-Field

FootballScoop on Tuesday announced the divisional and off-the-field finalists for the 2018 Coach of the Year awards, which are once again sponsored by AstroTurf. Now in its 11th year, the FootballScoop Coach of the Year program is the only college football awards program that honors coaches from FBS to NAIA and, most importantly, is the only set of college football coaching awards where the honorees are selected by their peers.

Coaches are nominated by fellow coaches and each award is chosen by a panel of each award's former winners.

Winners will be announced throughout the month and each winner will receive his award at the FootballScoop party during the AFCA Convention in San Antonio.


Without further ado, the divisional finalists are:

FCS Coordinator
Grant Chesnut, Kennesaw State offensive coordinator
Matt Entz, North Dakota State defensive coordinator
Sean Gleeson, Princeton offensive coordinator
Paul Shaffner, Colgate defensive coordinator
Christian Taylor and Jim Jackson, San Diego co-offensive coordinators
2017 winner: Bob Trott, James Madison

Division II Coordinator
Jonathan Beasley and Scott Carey, Tarleton State (Texas) co-offensive coordinators
Nick Fulton, Colorado School of Mines offensive coordinator
Donnell Leomiti, Colorado State-Pueblo defensive coordinator
Roddy Mote, Harding (Ark.) defensive coordinator
John Steger, Minnesota-Duluth defensive coordinator
2017 winner: Matt Storm, Texas A&M-Commerce

Division III Coordinator
Mike Fox, Brockport (N.Y.) defensive coordinator
Larry Harmon, Mary Hardin-Baylor (Texas) defensive coordinator
Anthony Johnson, Salisbury (Md.) offensive coordinator
Wallie Kuchinski, St. Thomas (Minn.) defensive coordinator
Stephen Lee, Mary Hardin-Baylor (Texas) offensive coordinator
2017 winner: Larry Harmon, Mary Hardin-Baylor (Texas)

NAIA Coordinator
Brock Caraboa, Marian (Ind.) defensive coordinator
Luke Leuders, Morningside (Iowa) offensive coordinator
Greg Robinson, Bethel (Minn.) offensive coordinator
Ron Shiels, Siena Heights (Mich.) defensive coordinator
2017 winners: Patrick Donley and Trevor Miller, Saint Francis (Ind.)


The off-the-field finalists are:

Strength Coach
Matt Balis, Notre Dame
Lew Caralla, Buffalo
Scott Sinclair, Georgia
Mike Sirignano, Appalachian State
2017 winner: Zach Duval, UCF

Football Operations Director
Shane Elder, North Texas
Billy Ray Johnson, UCF
Josh Thompson, Appalachian State
2017 winner: Tyler Cook, UAB

Player Personnel Director
Andy Frank, Penn State
Matt Lindsey, South Carolina
2017 winner: Marshall Malchow, Georgia

Since 1965, the AstroTurf brand has been driven by forward thinking ingenuity. Today AstroTurf continuously improves its system design to deliver playing surfaces with the most realistic, sport-specific performance, longest lasting durability, and sound player protection. For more information please visit