Skip to main content

2018 Coach of the Year finalists: Offense

FootballScoop on Tuesday announced the offensive finalists for the 2018 Coach of the Year awards, which are once again sponsored by AstroTurf. Now in its 11th year, the FootballScoop Coach of the Year program is the only college football awards program that honors coaches from FBS to NAIA and, most importantly, is the only set of college football coaching awards where the honorees are selected by their peers.

Coaches are nominated by fellow coaches and each award is chosen by a panel of each award's former winners.


Winners will be announced throughout the month and each winner will receive his award at the FootballScoop party during the AFCA Convention in San Antonio.

Without further ado, the offensive finalists are:

Offensive Coordinator
Kendal Briles, Houston
Ryan Day, Ohio State
Tony Elliott and Jeff Scott, Clemson
Mike Locksley, Alabama
Chip Long, Notre Dame
Rich Skrosky, FIU
David Yost, Utah State
2017 winner: Josh Heupel, Missouri

Tim Beck, Texas
Kendal Briles, Houston
Ryan Day, Ohio State
Dan Enos, Alabama
Tom Rees, Notre Dame
Brandon Streeter, Clemson
2017 winner: Jim Chaney, Georgia


Running Backs Coach
Tim Albin, Ohio
Jay Boulware, Oklahoma
Tashard Choice, North Texas
Tony Elliott, Clemson
Eddie Gran, Kentucky
DeAndre Smith, Utah State
2017 winner: Tony Elliott, Clemson

Wide Receivers Coach
Andre Allen, Hawaii
Tyron Carrier, West Virginia
Josh Gattis, Alabama
2017 winner: Kasey Dunn, Oklahoma State

Offensive Line Coach
Bill Bedenbaugh, Oklahoma
Glen Elarbee, UCF
Brent Key, Alabama
Mason Miller, Washington State
Sam Pittman, Georgia
Ryan Silverfield, Memphis
2017 winner: Bill Bedenbaugh, Oklahoma

Since 1965, the AstroTurf brand has been driven by forward thinking ingenuity. Today AstroTurf continuously improves its system design to deliver playing surfaces with the most realistic, sport-specific performance, longest lasting durability, and sound player protection. For more information please visit