With the coaching carousel underway, we’ve got the 2019-20 head coaching changes page live to keep track of all the movement.

Consider this your one-stop shop for coaching changes at every level of football – NFL, NCAA and NAIA – throughout the fall and winter, so check back frequently. For your reference, here are the lists of changes for the 2012-13, 2013-142014-15, 2015-162016-2017, 2017-18, and 2018-19 seasons.

There has been one NFL head coaching change as of October 7th. Last year, eight NFL jobs came open. There were seven changes following the 2017 season, six changes after 2016, and seven changes following the 2015 season.

Team 2019 Coach 2020 Coach
Carolina Panthers Ron Rivera
Washington Redskins Jay Gruden

There have been 17 FBS head coaching changes as of Dec. 7, and 12 jobs have been filled. Number of changes over the past 11 seasons: 22 (2008), 23 (2009), 24 (2010), 28 (2011), 31 (2012), 20 (2013), 15 (2014), 29 (2015), 21 (2016), 21 (2017), and 28 (2018).

Team 2019 Coach 2020 Coach
Appalachian State Eli Drinkwitz
Arkansas Chad Morris Sam Pittman
Boston College Steve Addazio
Colorado State Mike Bobo Steve Addazio
Florida Atlantic Lane Kiffin Willie Taggart
Florida State Willie Taggart Mike Norvell
Fresno State Jeff Tedford
Memphis Mike Norvell
Missouri Barry Odom Eli Drinkwitz
New Mexico Bob Davie
Old Dominion Bobby Wilder Ricky Rahne
Ole Miss Matt Luke Lane Kiffin
Rutgers Chris Ash Greg Schiano
South Florida Charlie Strong Jeff Scott
UNLV Tony Sanchez Marcus Arroyo
UTSA Frank Wilson Jeff Traylor
Washington Chris Petersen Jimmy Lake


In FCS, nine jobs have come open as of Dec. 6 and three have been filled. Twenty-five FCS jobs came each of the last two years, 24 in 2017, and 15 in 2016.

Team 2019 Coach 2020 Coach
Cal Poly Tim Walsh Beau Baldwin
Central Connecticut State Ryan McCarthy (I) Ryan McCarthy
Gardner-Webb (NC) Carroll McCray
Eastern Kentucky Mark Elder Walt Wells
Howard (DC) Ron Prince
Lamar (TX) Mike Schultz
Mercer (GA) Bobby Lamb
Murray State (KY) Mitch Stewart
Northern Colorado Earnest Collins

Twenty programs at the Division II level has made a head coaching change as of Dec. 9, and four jobs have been filled. Fifteen jobs opened at the D-II level after last season.

Team 2019 Coach 2020 Coach
Alderson Broaddus (WV) Sal Dewalt
Benedict College (SC) Mike White
Black Hills State (SD) John Reiners
Bloomsburg (PA) Paul Darragh
Carson-Newman (TN) Mike Turner
Colorado Mesa Russ Martin
Concord (WV) Paul Price
Edinboro (PA) Wayne Bradford
Fort Valley State (GA) Kevin Porter
Gannon (PA) Brad Rzyczycki Erik Raeburn
Lane (TN) Derrick Burroughs
Lock Haven (PA) Dave Taynor
Northern State (SD) Tom Dosch
Pitt State (KS) Tim Beck Brian Wright
South Dakota Mines Zach Tinker
Southern Nazarene (OK) Andy Lambert
St. Augustine’s (NC) Tim Chavous David Bowser
Texas A&M-Kingsville Daren Wilkinson
Wayne State (NE) Dan McLaughlin John McMenamin
Winston Salem State (NC) Robert Massey

Fifteen programs at the Division III level have announced a change as of Dec. 4, and two jobs have been filled. Twenty-one programs made changes last year, and 25 schools at the Division III level announced a change in 2017.

Team 2019 Coach 2020 Coach
Buffalo State Jerry Boyes
Coast Guard (CT) Bill George
Cornell (IA) Vince Brautigam
DePauw (IN) Bill Lynch
Fairleigh Dickinson (NJ) Brian Surace
Franklin (IN) Mike Leonard
Greensboro (NC) Paul Janoscak
Grinnell (IA) Jeff Pedersen
Hiram (OH) Henry Stanford
Iowa Wesleyan Michael Richtman
Juniata (PA) Tim Launtz
Lawrence (WI) Rob McCarthy
Pacific (OR) Keith Buckley Ian Falconer
Wash U (MO) Larry Kindbom (*)
Wheaton Mike Swider
Worcester State (MA) Brien Cullen Adam Peloquin

There have been two NAIA head coaching changes. Last season, there were 15 coaching changes.

Team 2019 Coach 2020 Coach
Lawrence Tech (MI) Jeffrey Duvendeck
Peru State (NE) Steve Schneider
Saint Mary (KS) Jay Osborn Lance Hinson

(I) denotes that the coach has, or will lead the team as an interim head coach
(*) denotes coach announced plans to retire before the end of the current season
(n) denotes a new program
(c) denotes co-head coaches
(h) denotes a coach stepping down citing health reasons
(x) denotes the program will not field a team in 2019

As always, if we missed anyone please let us know at 225.229.3429, [email protected], or via Twitter (DM if you’d like) @FootballScoop.

Content manager - Doug took the reins in 2011 and the website has been better ever since. A former college player and small college coach, Doug now serves as the head coach at Ravenna HS (MI).