Skip to main content
Publish date:

AFCA announces updated leadership for 2018 season

The 2017 season has come and gone, which means the AFCA has shuffled its leadership posts as the calendar flips to 2018.

Georgetown (Ky.) College head coach Bill Cronin has been named the AFCA's president, after serving as first vice president in 2017. (Former Arizona head coach Rich Rodriguez was the president in '17.)

“It is with great pride and honor that I accept this position of 2018 AFCA President,” Cronin said in a statement. “Not many in their profession get an opportunity to be associated with such great leaders as the football coaching profession provides. These coaches have the ability to change lives because of their influence on countless young men. The AFCA provides a reservoir of knowledge, experience and inspiration to so many in our sport. I look forward to assisting Todd Berry and the AFCA staff in any way possible to continue this charge.”

Cronin recently completed his 21st season at Georgetown, in which he has won two NAIA national championships, 14 Mid-South Conference championships and set a school record with 192 wins and counting.

With Cronin's ascension to president, the following coaches have also slid upward: Ohio head coach Frank Solich to first vice president, TCU head coach Gary Patterson to second VP and Mary Hardin-Baylor (Texas) head coach Pete Fredenburg to third VP.

Additionally, Stanford head coach David Shaw, North Texas head coach Seth Littrell and North Dakota State head coach Chris Klieman were selected to the AFCA's Board of Directors, which now consists of 19 members.

As always, stay tuned to The Scoop for the latest.