Publish date:

Broyles Award nominees released

The Little Rock Touchdown Club on Wednesday released the list of Broyles Award nominees for 2017.

The list includes 56 coaches from all 10 FBS conferences. An 18-member committee of former coaches and Football Writers Association of America members (full disclosure: I am one of those committee members) will select from this list a group of 15 semifinalists and five finalists.

Recent winners include Clemson defensive coordinator Brent Venables (2016), Oklahoma offensive coordinator Lincoln Riley (2015), Ohio State offensive coordinator Tom Herman (2014), Michigan State defensive coordinator Pat Narduzzi (2013) and Notre Dame defensive coordinator Bob Diaco (2012).

The five finalists will travel to Little Rock for the Dec. 5 award banquet.

Without further ado, the 56 nominees:

Alabama – Brian Daboll, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Arizona – Rod Smith, Co–Offensive Coordinator
Arizona State – Phil Bennett, Defensive Coordinator
Arkansas State – Brian Early, Defensive Line Coach
Auburn – Kevin Steele, Defensive Coordinator
Boise State – Andy Avalos, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Bowling Green State – Matt Brock, Special Teams Coordinator/Linebackers Coach
California – Beau Baldwin, Offensive Coordinator
Central Florida – Troy Walters, Offensive Coordinator
Clemson – Tony Elliot, Co–Offensive Coordinator, Running Backs
Eastern Michigan – Neal Neathery, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers Coach
FAU – Chris Kiffin, Defensive Coordinator
FIU – Brent Guy, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Fresno State – Orlondo Steinauer, Defensive Coordinator
Georgia – Mel Tucker, Defensive Coordinator
Georgia State – Nate Fuqua, Defensive Coordinator/Outside Linebackers
Iowa State – Jon Heacock, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
Kansas State – Sean Snyder, Special Teams Coordinator
LSU – Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator
Memphis – Joe Lorig, Special Teams Coordinator/Outside Linebackers
Miami – Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator
Michigan – Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Michigan State – Harlon Barnett, Co–Defensive Coordinator/Secondary Coach
Mississippi State – Todd Grantham, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Missouri – Josh Heupel, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
NC State – Dwayne Ledford, Offensive Line Coach/Run Game Coordinator
North Texas – Graham Harrell, Offensive Coordinator
Northwestern – Mike Hankwitz, Defensive Coordinator
Notre Dame – Mike Elko, Defensive Coordinator
Ohio State – Larry Johnson, Assistant Head Coach/Defensive Line Coach
Oklahoma – Bill Bedenbaugh, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Oklahoma State – Mike Yurcich, Offensive Coordinator/QBs
Ole Miss – Derrick Nix, Running Backs Coach
Oregon – Jim Leavitt, Defensive Coordinator
Penn State – Brent Pry, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers Coach
San José State – Bojay Filimoeatu, Linebackers Coach
SMU – Joe Craddock, Offensive Coordinator
South Carolina – Coleman Hutzler, Special Teams Coordinator/Linebackers Coach
Southern Miss – Tony Pecoraro, Defensive Coordinator/Inside Linebackers
Stanford – Mike Bloomgren, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Syracuse – Brian Ward, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers Coach
TCU – Chad Glasgow, Defensive Coordinator
Temple – Jim Panagos, Defensive Line
Texas – Todd Orlando, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Toledo – Brian Wright, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks Coach
Troy – Vic Koenning, Defensive Coordinator
U.S. Military Academy – Brent Davis, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
USC – Tee Martin, Offensive Coordinator/WR Coach
Utah State – Mark Tommerdahl, Special Teams Coordinator/Running Backs
Virginia Tech – Bud Foster, Defensive Coordinator
Wake Forest – Warren Ruggiero, Offensive Coordinator
Washington – Pete Kwiatkowski, Defensive Coordinator
Washington State – Alex Grinch, Defensive Coordinator / Secondary
West Virginia – Tony Gibson, Associate Head Coach/Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Western Kentucky – Clayton White, Defensive Coordinator
Wisconsin – Jim Leonhard, Defensive Coordinator