Publish date:

Broyles Award semifinalists announced

The Frank and Barbara Broyles Foundation on Tuesday announced the 15 semifinalists for the Broyles Award, given to the nation's top assistant coach.

The semifinalists were chosen by a panel of voters (full disclosure: I am one of them). The group of 15 will be whittled down to five finalists, who will then attend the award ceremony in Little Rock on Tuesday, Dec. 5.

Previous winners are not eligible to win for the next five seasons. Clemson's Brent Venables won in 2016.

The semifinalists are:

Bill Bedenbaugh, Oklahoma offensive coordinator/offensive line coach
Brian Daboll, Alabama offensive coordinator/quarterbacks coach
Manny Diaz, Miami defensive coordinator
Mike Elko, Notre Dame defensive coordinator
Tony Elliot, Clemson co-offensive coordinator/running backs coach
Chad Glasgow, TCU defensive coordinator
Todd Grantham, Mississippi State defensive coordinator/linebackers coach
Alex Grinch, Washington State defensive coordinator/defensive backs coach
Jon Heacock, Iowa State defensive coordinator/safeties coach
Pete Kwiatkowski, Washington defensive coordinator
Jim Leonhard, Wisconsin defensive coordinator
Tee Martin, USC offensive coordinator/wide receivers coach
Kevin Steele, Auburn defensive coordinator
Mel Tucker, Georgia defensive coordinator
Troy Walters, Central Florida offensive coordinator