Skip to main content
Publish date:

Coaching staff update: Nebraska

Here's a quick look at where the Nebraska coaching staff stands as of Friday, Jan. 19.

But first, a quick glance at how the Cornhuskers finished in 2017.

2017 Result
4-8 overall, fifth in the Big Ten West (3-6).

 Credit: ESPN

Credit: ESPN

2017 Coaching Staff
Head coach: Mike Riley
Offensive coordinator/quarterbacks: Danny Langsdorf
Defensive coordinator: Bob Diaco
Special teams coordinator/safeties: Scott Booker
Linebackers: Trent Bray
Offensive line: Mike Cavanaugh
Running backs: Reggie Davis
Defensive line: John Parrella
Cornerbacks: Donte Williams
Wide receivers: Keith Williams

2017 Key Off-the-Field Staff
Head strength coach: Mark Philipp
Associate AD for football administration: Dan Van De Reit
DFO: Adam Clark
Executive director of player personnel: Billy Devaney
Director of recruiting operations: Andy Vaughn

Scott Frost Nebraska

2018 Changes
What didn't change? DFO Adam Clark is still on staff, and that's it. Riley was swept out after the Iowa loss, and Scott Frost was hired in early December. He brought his entire Central Florida staff with him, and many of the names are familiar to Big Red Nation.

Tenth Assistant
It's kind of a moot point with the entire staff changing over, but former Husker linebacker Barrett Ruud was hired to an off-the-field role in December, then elevated to inside linebackers coach in January.

2018 Coaching Staff
Head coach: Scott Frost
Defensive coordinator: Erik Chinander
Offensive coordinator/wide receivers: Troy Walters
Special teams coordinator/outside linebackers: Jovan Dewitt
Offensive line: Greg Austin
Tight ends: Sean Beckton
Defensive line: Mike Dawson
Defensive backs: Travis Fisher
Running backs: Ryan Held
Inside linebackers: Barrett Ruud*
Quarterbacks: Mario Verduzco

* - Tenth assistant

2018 Key Off-the-Field Staff
Head strength coach: Zach Duval
Associate AD for football: Matt Davison
Chief of staff: Gerrod Lambrecht
DFO: Adam Clark
Director of player personnel: Sean Dillon

Disclaimer: The information provided here is current as of time of publishing. Any further changes to the staff will be posted to The Scoop.