Skip to main content

The College Football Playoff field is set

CFB Playoff

After 18 months of anticipating and 15 weeks of data, the College Football Playoff selection committee announced its inaugural four-team field late Sunday morning from Grapevine, Texas:


Sugar Bowl logo

Alabama (12-1, SEC Champions) vs. Ohio State (12-1, Big Ten Champions)

Best win: Alabama - 25-20 over then-No. 1 Mississippi State on Nov. 15, Ohio State 59-0 over Wisconsin on Dec. 6.

Key Statistics


Ohio State

Scoring Offense

37.1 ppg (17th)

45.2 ppg (4th)

Scoring Defense

16.6 ppg (4th)

21.2 ppg (23rd)

Yards Per Play

6.73 (11th)

7.04 (5th)

Yards Per Play Allowed

4.68 (9th)

4.79 (18th)

Turnover Margin

-0.08 (67th)

0.69 (19th)


Rose Bowl logo
Florida State logo

Oregon (12-1, Pac-12 Champions) vs. Florida State (13-0, ACC Champions)
Best win: Oregon - 51-13 over Arizona on Dec. 6, Florida State - 37-35 over Georgia Tech on Dec. 6.

Key Statistics


Florida State

Scoring Offense

46.3 ppg (3rd)

34.8 ppg (28th)

Scoring Defense

22.5 ppg (29th)

21.2 ppg (30th)

Yards Per Play

7.34 (2nd)

6.42 (26th)

Yards Per Play Allowed

5.40 (58th)

5.39 (47th)

Turnover Margin

1.31 (3rd)

-0.23 (85th)

The Rose Bowl will kick off at 5 p.m. ET on New Year's Day, and the Sugar Bowl will follow at 8:30 p.m. ET.