Skip to main content
Publish date:

Which colleges produced the most current FBS head coaches?

The entire roster of 130 FBS head coaches is set (for now), which means our annual ranking of the longest active head coaching tenures is coming soon. But in the meantime the good folks at Reddit CFB have done something very interesting.

They listed out all 130 FBS head coaches, complete with their birthplaces, home towns and alma maters. Give it a look here.

For starters, 22 of the 130 FBS head coaches are currently leading their alma maters:

  • John Bonamego, Central Michigan
  • Troy Calhoun, Air Force
  • Paul Chryst, Wisconsin
  • Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
  • Scott Frost, Nebraska
  • Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
  • Jim Harbaugh, Michigan
  • Bryan Harsin, Boise State
  • Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech
  • Tim Lester, Western Michigan
  • Matt Luke, Ole Miss
  • Mike Neu, Ball State
  • Barry Odom, Missouri
  • Mark Richt, Miami
  • Nick Rolovich, Hawaii
  • Scott Satterfield, Appalachian State
  • David Shaw, Stanford
  • Kilane Sitake, BYU
  • Kirby Smart, Georgia
  • Jonathan Smith, Oregon State
  • Jeff Tedford, Fresno State
  • Matt Wells, Utah State

On the flip side of that, nine coaches are coaching their alma mater's competition:

  • Steve Campbell went to Troy and now coaches South Alabama
  • Shawn Elliott went to Appalachian State and now coaches Georgia State
  • Rocky Long went to New Mexico and now coaches San Diego State
  • Chad Morris went to Texas A&M and now coaches Arkansas
  • Jeremy Pruitt went to Alabama and now coaches Tennessee
  • Lincoln Riley went to Texas Tech and now coaches Oklahoma
  • Dabo Swinney went to Alabama and now coaches Clemson
  • Kyle Whittingham went to BYU and now coaches Utah
  • Justin Wilcox went to Oregon and now coaches California
  • Everett Withers went to Appalachian State and now coaches Texas State

As much as people like to talk about hiring "one of us" as head coach, only 39 (30 percent) of FBS head coaches are from the same state in which their current school resides, and this includes the 22 coaches working at their alma maters. On the flip side of this argument: Nick Saban, Urban Meyer and Les Miles had no SEC experience until they started coaching there, and the same holds true for Chip Kelly and the West Coast, and Dabo Swinney and the ACC and (insert your favorite example here).

Eighty-three of the 130 FBS head coaches (63.8 percent) went to schools that currently compete in FBS. Among the coaches that didn't: Jimbo Fisher (Samford), James Franklin (East Stroudsburg), Tom Herman (California Lutheran), Brian Kelly (Assumption), Chip Kelly (New Hampshire), Gus Malzahn (Henderson State), Dan Mullen (Ursinus), Chris Petersen (UC Davis) and Bill Snyder (William Jewell).

One school has produced four active head coaches, five schools have pumped out three, and 21 have produced multiple. Eighteen of those 21 are FBS schools:

Nebraska (4)
Craig Bohl, Wyoming
Scott Frost, Nebraska
Turner Gill, Liberty
Frank Solich, Ohio

Alabama (3)
David Cutcliffe, Duke
Jeremy Pruitt, Tennessee
Dabo Swinney, Clemson

Appalachian State (3)
Shawn Elliott, Georgia State
Scott Satterfield, Appalachian State
Everett Withers, Texas State

Georgia (3)
Mike Bobo, Colorado State
Will Muschamp, South Carolina
Kirby Smart, Georgia

Hawaii (3)
Dino Babers, Syracuse
Ken Niumatalolo, Navy
Nick Rolovich, Hawaii

Texas Tech (3)
Sonny Dykes, SMU
Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech
Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma

Boise State (2)
Bryan Harsin, Boise State
Mike Sanford, Western Kentucky

BYU (2)
Mike Leach, Washington State
Kyle Whittingham, Utah

Florida State (2)
Mike Bloomgren, Rice
Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee

Fordham (2)
Joe Moglia, Coastal Carolina
Joe Moorhead, Mississippi State

Fresno State (2)
Lane Kiffin, Florida Atlantic
Jeff Tedford, Fresno State

Iowa (2)
Jay Norvell, Nevada
Mark Stoops, Kentucky

Kansas State (2)
Brad Lambert, Charlotte
Gary Patterson, TCU

Miami (2)
Mario Cristobal, Oregon
Mark Richt, Miami

Millikin (2)
Chuck Martin, Miami of Ohio
Jeff Monken, Army

Mount Union (2)
Matt Campbell, Iowa State
Jason Candle, Toledo

Oklahoma (2)
Josh Heupel, UCF
Seth Littrell, North Texas

Ole Miss (2)
Jay Hopson, Southern Miss
Matt Luke, Ole Miss

Oregon State (2)
Bronco Mendenhall, Virginia
Jonathan Smith, Oregon State

West Virginia (2)
Terry Bowden, Akron
Doc Holliday, Marshall

Wisconsin (2)
Paul Chryst, Wisconsin
Sean Lewis, Kent State

And in an odd bit of alma mater trivia, the head coach at Ohio State (Urban Meyer) went to Cincinnati, and the head coach at Cincinnati (Luke Fickell) went to Ohio State.

For more goodness, check out the original post on Reddit.