Skip to main content
Publish date:

The FCS playoff bracket is out

The FCS selection committee released its 24-team playoff bracket on Sunday. This year's event kicks off on Saturday and concludes Jan. 6 at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas.

James Madison is the defending champion. The Dukes broke a string of five straight championships by North Dakota State last season, and enter the 2017 tournament as the top overall seed.

North Dakota State, Jacksonville State, Central Arkansas, South Dakota State, Sam Houston State, Wofford and Southern Utah also earned first-round byes.

National darling Austin Peay was left out of this year's field, despite snapping a 29-game losing streak and finishing 7-1 in the Ohio Valley.

This year marks the 40th season of the FCS playoffs, and the eighth year with the title game in Frisco.

Here is the full bracket:

FCS bracket

As always, stay tuned to The Scoop for the latest.