Skip to main content

Five finalists named for the Broyles Award

The award going to the top assistant in college football has named its five finalists.

They are:

Phil Snow - Baylor defensive coordinator
Dan Lanning - Georgia defensive coordinator
Joe Brady - LSU passing game coordinator
Jeff Hafley - Ohio State co-defensive coordinator
Morgan Scalley - Utah defensive coordinator

When you look at the body of work over the course of the college football season now mostly in the rearview mirror, the impact each of those coaches listed above is absolutely undeniable.

Interestingly enough, Brady will face off against Lanning this weekend for the SEC title.

The original list of semifinalists announced a few weeks back can be found here.

Past Broyles award winners from the past decade include Mike Locksley (OC - Alabama), Tony Elliott (OC - Clemson), Brent Venables (DC - Clemson), Lincoln Riley (OC - Oklahoma), Tom Herman (OC - Ohio State), Pat Narduzzi (DC - Michigan State), Bob Diaco (DC - Notre Dame), John Chavis (DC - LSU), and Gus Malzahn (OC - Auburn). While many of those previous winners are obviously currently head coaches, winners from the past five seasons are not currently eligible for the 2019 Broyles award.

The award will be given out during a ceremony on Tuesday December 10th, 2019 in Little Rock, AR.

Lots happening today on The Scoop today. Be sure to check back a few times for the latest.