FootballScoop has proudly announced finalists for the 2017 FootballScoop Coach of the Year awards on the offensive side of the ball.

Now in its 10th year, the FootballScoop Coach of the Year awards program presented by AstroTurf are the only coaching awards chosen entirely by their peers. Coaches must be nominated by a fellow coach to be eligible for an award and winners are chosen by the prior winners of each award.

The FootballScoop Coach of the Year awards program honors a total of 17 coaches, recognizing outstanding work done by FBS coordinators and position coaches, divisional coordinators and essential FBS support staff. Finalists for defense and special teams, divisional coordinators and essential FBS support staff will be announced in later releases.

Winners will be revealed throughout the month and will receive their awards at the AFCA Convention in Charlotte in January.

Offensive Coordinator
Josh Heupel, Missouri
Chip Long, Notre Dame
Joe Moorhead, Penn State
Warren Ruggiero, Wake Forest
Kevin Wilson, Ohio State
Mike Yurcich, Oklahoma State

Quarterbacks Coach (Note: As head coach Lincoln Riley is ineligible)
Jim Chaney, Georgia
Ryan Day, Ohio State
Josh Heupel, Missouri
Rhett Lashlee, Connecticut
Rod Smith, Arizona
Warren Ruggerio, Wake Forest
Mario Verduzo, Central Florida
Bright Wright, Toledo

Running Backs Coach
Louis Ayeni, Iowa State
Tony Elliott, Clemson
Ron Gould, Stanford
Jeff Horton, San Diego State
Tim Horton, Auburn
Charles Huff, Penn State
John Settle, Wisconsin

Wide Receivers Coach
Tyron Carrier, West Virginia
Kasey Dunn, Oklahoma State
Cale Gundy and Dennis Simmons, Oklahoma
Kim McCloud, Syracuse
Justin Stepp, SMU

Offensive Line Coach
Greg Austin, Central Florida
Bill Bedenbaugh, Oklahoma
Glen Elarbee, Missouri
Herb Hand, Auburn
Harry Hiestand, Notre Dame
Garin Justice, Florida Atlantic
Brent Key, Alabama
Sam Pittman, Georgia

As mentioned above, this year’s winners will be chosen by prior winners.

Since 1965, the AstroTurf brand has been driven by forward thinking ingenuity. Today AstroTurf continuously improves its system design to deliver playing surfaces with the most realistic, sport-specific performance, longest lasting durability, and sound player protection. For more information please visit

National columnist - Zach joined the staff in 2012...and has been attempting to improve Doug and Scott's writing ability ever since (to little avail). Outside of football season, you can find him watching the San Antonio Spurs reading Game of Thrones fan theories.