FootballScoop has proudly announced finalists for the 2017 FootballScoop Coach of the Year awards for the divisional ranks.

Now in its 10th year, the FootballScoop Coach of the Year awards program presented by AstroTurf are the only coaching awards chosen entirely by their peers. Coaches must be nominated by a fellow coach to be eligible for an award and winners are chosen by the prior winners of each award.

The FootballScoop Coach of the Year awards program honors a total of 17 coaches, recognizing outstanding work done by FBS coordinators and position coaches, divisional coordinators and essential FBS support staff. Finalists for FBS offense and defense/special teams were announced previously.

Winners will be revealed throughout the month and will receive their awards at the AFCA Convention in Charlotte in January.

FCS Coordinator
Nathan Brown, Central Arkansas offensive coordinator
Grant Chestnut, Kennesaw State offensive coordinator
Tanner Engstrand, San Diego offensive coordinator
Matt Entz, North Dakota State defensive coordinator
Bob Trott, James Madison defensive coordinator
Sam Washington, North Carolina A&T defensive coordinator

Division II Coordinator
Adam Austin, Midwestern State (Texas) offensive coordinator
Joe Beschorner, Minnesota State offensive coordinator
Mike Burket, Shippensburg (Pa.) defensive coordinator
Mark Criner/Donnell Leomiti, Colorado State-Pueblo defensive coordinators
Jim Smith, Indiana (Pa.) defensive coordinator
Matt Storm, Texas A&M-Commerce offensive coordinator
Moses Ware, Bowie State (Md.) offensive coordinator

Division III Coordinator
Mike Fox, Brockport (NY) defensive coordinator
Larry Harmon, Mary Hardin-Baylor (Texas) defensive coordinator
Chris Kappas, Mount Union (Ohio) offensive coordinator
Wallie Kuchinski, St. Thomas (Minn.) defensive coordinator
Eric Treske/Tyler Wellman, Lakeland (Wisc.) offensive coordinators
Luke Venne, Wisconsin-Oshkosh offensive coordinator
Craig Yeast, Franklin College (Ind.) offensive coordinator

NAIA Coordinator
Patrick Donley/Trevor Miller, Saint Francis (Ind.) offensive coordinators
Ken Fasnacht, Southern Oregon offensive coordinator
Shan Housekeeper, Georgetown (Ky.) defensive coordinator
Lucas Lueders, Morningside (Iowa) offensive coordinator
Jeff Lebby, Southeastern (Fla.) offensive coordinator
Calvin Miller, Langston (Okla.) defensive coordinator
Tommy Scott, Reinhardt (Ga.) defensive coordinator

As mentioned above, this year’s winners will be chosen by prior winners.

Since 1965, the AstroTurf brand has been driven by forward thinking ingenuity. Today AstroTurf continuously improves its system design to deliver playing surfaces with the most realistic, sport-specific performance, longest lasting durability, and sound player protection. For more information please visit

National columnist - Zach joined the staff in 2012...and has been attempting to improve Doug and Scott's writing ability ever since (to little avail). Outside of football season, you can find him watching the San Antonio Spurs reading Game of Thrones fan theories.