Skip to main content

FootballScoop announces 2016 Coach of the Year finalists - Divisional

FootballScoop has proudly announced finalists for the 2016 FootballScoop Coach of the Year awards, this honoring divisional coordinators. Offensive and defensive/special teams finalists were announced last week.

Now in its ninth year, the FootballScoop Coach of the Year awards program presented by ProGrass are the only coaching awards chosen entirely by their peers. Coaches must be nominated by a fellow coach to be eligible for an award and winners are chosen by the prior winners of each award.

The FootballScoop Coach of the Year awards program honors a total of 17 coaches, recognizing outstanding work done by FBS coordinators and position coaches, divisional coordinators and essential FBS support staff. Finalists for essential FBS support staff will be announced in a later release.

Winners will be revealed throughout the month and will receive their awards at the AFCA Convention in Nashville in January.


FCS Coordinator
- David Blackwell/Brandon Hall, Jacksonville State defensive co-coordinators
- Billy Crocker, Villanova defensive coordinator
- Eric Dooley, Grambling offensive coordinator
- Eric Eidsness, South Dakota State offensive coordinator
- Steve Irvin, San Diego defensive coordinator
- Phil Longo, Sam Houston State offensive coordinator
- Mickey Matthews, Coastal Carolina defensive coordinator

Division II Coordinator
- Mike Craig, California University of Pennsylvania defensive coordinator
- Charlie Flohr, Northwest Missouri State offensive coordinator
- Nick Fulton, Colorado Mines offensive coordinator
- Tim Morrison, Grand Valley State (Mich.) offensive coordinator
- Paul Simmons, Harding (Ark.) defensive coordinator

Division III Coordinator
- Grant Caserta, Husson (Maine) defensive coordinator
- Wallie Kuchinski, St. Thomas (Minn.) defensive coordinator
- Stephen Lee, Mary Hardin-Baylor (Texas) offensive coordinator
- Jordan Neal, Hendrix College (Ark.) offensive coordinator
- Brandon Staley, John Carroll (Ohio) defensive coordinator

NAIA Coordinator
- Brock Caraboa, Marian (Ind.) defensive coordinator
- Joe Didier/Eric Wagoner, St. Francis (Ind.) co-defensive coordinators
- Lucas Lueders, Morningside College (Iowa) offensive coordinator
- Miguel Regalado, Baker (Kan.) offensive coordinator
- Tommy Scott, Reinhardt (Ga.) defensive coordinator


ProGrass has established itself as one of the preeminent names in the synthetic turf industry. Over 500 ProGrass fields can be located from Connecticut to California. The ProGrass product is consistently evaluated as “One of the Best Products on the Market”. The reason is simple: we know the industry and have developed the TEAM, the products and processes that exceed the expectations of our demanding and knowledgeable customers. The mission of ProGrass is to provide synthetic turf systems that go the distance with advancements in athletic performance. For more information please visit:

Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has long been the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, strength & conditioning coaches, operations and equipment staff across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing first hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings.