Skip to main content

Gary Patterson has won every coach of the year award known to man


Gary Patterson has raked in the hardware this year. So much so, in fact, he may have to use some of his bonus money to install a new trophy case in his house.

On Monday, Patterson was named the Football Writers Association of America's Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award winner. This year marks the second time he's won this particular coach of the year award, joining College Football Hall of Famers (present or future) Nick Saban, Lou Holtz, Darrell Royal, John McKay, Johnny Majors, Joe Paterno and Woody Hayes as multiple winners. This award joins the Home Depot Coach of the Year and the unofficial coach of the year title awarded in an ESPN poll of his FBS head coaching peers. Patterson received 45 percent of the vote, more than four times the total of second-place honoree Urban Meyer.

And those are just the awards that have been announced thus far.

Patterson also won the AP Coach of the Year and the Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year in the Big 12 Conference.

The awards didn't stop there. Doug Meacham were finalists for the FootballScoop Offensive Coordinator of the Year award (given to Ohio State's Tom Herman on Monday), while Cumbie is a finalist for the Quarterbacks Coach of the Year and both Meacham and Rusty Burns are up for the Wide Receivers Coach of the Year award.

Quarterback Trevone Boykin, the player who triggered the seven-win jump that generated this parade of hardware, was named the Big 12's Offensive Player of the Year by the league's media and coaches, and finished fourth in the Heisman Trophy voting.

Patterson's haul is the subject of the stat of the day from TCU SID Mark Cohen, a state that does not seem possible.