Skip to main content
Publish date:

The NCAA has announced its Division II and Division III playoff brackets

It's playoff time in (some levels of) college football, as the NCAA on Sunday revealed the Division II and Division III playoff brackets.

The Division II bracket features 28 teams -- does any other playoff bracket in any sport call for a 28-team bracket? -- headed by California (Pa.), North Alabama, Northwest Missouri State and Grand Valley State (Mich.) Northwest Missouri State claimed last year's championship and has won two of the last three Division II crowns.


The Division II Championship will be played at Children's Mercy Park in Kansas City, Kan., on Dec. 17 (4 p.m. ET, ESPN2).

In Division III, a more traditional 32 teams will compete in this year's field. Mary Hardin-Baylor (Texas), St. Thomas (Minn.), Alfred (N.Y.) and, fresh off their earth-shaking upset of Mount Union, John Carroll (Ohio) sit at the top of each bracket.


The 44th Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl will be played at Salem Stadium in Salem, Va., on Friday, Dec. 16 (7 p.m. ET, ESPNU). Mount Union won last year's title... and 11 titles before that.

The FCS bracket will be announced this Sunday (11 a.m. ET, ESPNU), while the FBS College Football Playoff bracket will be revealed Dec. 4.