AFC Championship Football

If one day you happen to find yourself so fortunate enough to snare an offensive coordinator job in the NFL…. rent.

Inspired by Adam Schefter, FootballScoop learned that both offensive coordinators in Sunday’s Super Bowl have been in their current jobs for the past three seasons. That’s not surprising. What is surprising – stunning, even – is that only 10 percent of their peers, three in 30, have been around that long as well. Only five of the 32 NFL offensive coordinators have lasted three seasons. That’s 15 percent. We’re not going to tell you who they are, so you’ll have to scroll down to find them. And if you know who they are off the top of your head… seek help immediately.

What’s the cause of this constant turnover? Surely much of it is the nature of the job. An offensive coordinator may be the only assistant coach in sports that often takes more criticism than his boss. Much of it is unavoidable, with new staffs bringing in their own guys, and successful coordinators moving up to head coaching jobs, thereby taking costing another coordinator his job. And some of it is just bad hiring. Not many of these names from the 2012 column are knocking on the Lombardi Trophy’s door. You would be surprised how many NFL franchises have actually changed offensive coordinators twice in the past three seasons.

AFC East 2012 OC Current OC
Buffalo Bills Curtis Modkins Greg Roman
Miami Dolphins Mike Sherman Bill Lazor
New England Patriots Josh McDaniels Josh McDaniels
New York Jets Tony Sparano Chan Gailey


AFC North 2012 OC Current OC
Baltimore Ravens Cam Cameron/Jim Caldwell Marc Trestman
Cincinnati Bengals Jay Gruden Hue Jackson
Cleveland Browns Brad Childress John DeFilippo
Pittsburgh Steelers Todd Haley Todd Haley


AFC South 2012 OC Current OC
Houston Texans Rick Dennison Bill O’Brien*
Indianapolis Colts Bruce Arians Pep Hamilton
Jacksonville Jaguars Bob Bratkowski Greg Olson
Tennessee Titans Dowell Loggains Jason Michael


AFC West 2012 OC Current OC
Denver Broncos Mike McCoy Rick Dennison
Kansas City Chiefs Brian Daboll Doug Pederson
Oakland Raiders Greg Knapp Bill Musgrave
San Diego Chargers Hal Hunter Frank Reich


NFC East 2012 OC Current OC
Dallas Cowboys Bill Callahan Scott Linehan
New York Giants Kevin Gilbride Ben McAdoo
Philadelphia Eagles Marty Mornhinweg Pat Shurmur
Washington Redskins Kyle Shanahan Sean McVay


NFC North 2012 OC Current OC
Chicago Bears Mike Tice Adam Gase
Detroit Lions Scott Linehan Joe Lombardi
Green Bay Packers Tom Clements Tom Clements
Minnesota Vikings Bill Musgrave Norv Turner


NFC South 2012 OC Current OC
Atlanta Falcons Dirk Koetter None
Carolina Panthers Rob Chudzinski Mike Shula
New Orleans Saints Pete Carmichael Pete Carmichael
Tampa Bay Buccaneers Mike Sullivan Dirk Koetter


NFC West 2012 OC Current OC
Arizona Cardinals Mike Miller Tom Moore+
San Francisco 49ers Greg Roman Geep Chryst
Seattle Seahawks Darrell Bevell Darrell Bevell
St. Louis Rams Brian Schottenheimer None

* – head coach, + – assistant head coach for offense