Skip to main content

The nominees for the Broyles Award have been released

The Broyles Award, given annually to the top assistant in college football, announced a list of nominees for the prestigious award today.

Overall, the list includes 19 defensive coordinators, 13 offensive coordinators, 4 special teams coordinators, and 3 position coaches.

Below is the list of nominations, their school, and their title.

Alabama - Jeremy Pruitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Arkansas State - Joe Cauthen, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Army West Point - Jay Bateman, Defensive Coordinator
Auburn - Kevin Steele, Defensive Coordinator
Boise State - Scott Huff, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive
Washington State - Alex Grinch, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary
Brigham Young - Ed Lamb, Special Team Coordinator/Safeties
Clemson - Brent Venables, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Colorado - Jim Leavitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Colorado State - Will Friend, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Georgia Southern - Chad Lunsford, Special Teams Coordinator/Tight Ends
Houston - Todd Orlando - Defensive Coordinator
Indiana - Tom Allen, Defensive Coordinator
Iowa State - Tom Manning, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Louisiana Tech - Todd Fitch, Offensive Coordinator/Wide Receivers
LSU - Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator
Miami - Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Michigan - Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Missouri - Glen Elarbee, Offensive Line
Navy - Ivan Jasper, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Nebraska - Trent Bray, Linebackers
North Carolina - Larry Porter, Special Teams Coordinator/Running Backs
North Carolina State - Ryan Nielsen, Defensive Line
Oklahoma State - Mike Yurcich, Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Old Dominion - Brian Scott, Offensive Coordinator
Ole Miss - Matt Luke, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Ohio State - Kerry Coombs, Special Teams Coordinator/Cornerbacks
Penn State - Joe Moorhead, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
Pittsburgh - Matt Canada, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
South Carolina - Travaris Robinson, Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Backs
Stanford - Mike Bloomgren, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line
Temple - Phil Snow, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
Troy - Matt Moore, Co-Offensive Coordinator
UCF - Erik Chinander, Defensive Coordinator
USC - Clancy Pendergast, Defensive Coordinator
Wake Forest - Mike Elko, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
Western Kentucky - Tony Levine, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Special Teams Coordinator
Western Michigan - Kirk Ciarrocca, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks
West Virginia - Tony Gibson, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
Wisconsin - Justin Wilcox, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Past winners of the Broyles Award include Lincoln Riley (2015), Tom Herman (2014), Pat Narduzzi (2013), Bob Diaco (2012), John Chavis (2011), Gus Malzahn (2010), Kirby Smart (2009), and Kevin Wilson (2008).