Skip to main content

Photo: Here is the inaugural CFP championship ring

We don't yet know who among Alabama, Oregon, Florida State and Ohio State will win the College Football Playoff championship, but we know what the winner will wear after they lift the trophy.

The College Football Playoff released the championship rings, made by Jostens, that it will award to the victorious team. The winning team will, presumably, create their own championship rings as well, but these rings - the first of their kind - will be a nice little piece of college football history.

CFP rings

As a reminder, here's the trophy the Crimson Tide, Ducks, Seminoles or Buckeyes will win on January 12:


Since the trophy was introduced in mid-July, CFP executive director Bill Hancock has insisted that no one will actually hoist the trophy until it has been won on the field. That means either Nick Saban, Mark Helfrich, Jimbo Fisher or Urban Meyer will give the trophy its maiden voyage into the air.