Skip to main content

Randy Ross - 2019 FootballScoop Football Operations Director of the Year

FootballScoop is proud to announce that Randy Ross is the 2019 FootballScoop Football Operations Director of the Year presented by AstroTurf as selected by prior winners.

Randy Ross has been a fixture in college football the past 30 years.

Following a lengthy and highly successful decade as a high school head coach, Ross coached quarterbacks at Vanderbilt for three seasons. Gene Stallings lured Ross to the University of Alabama and he would then go on to become a mainstay of Alabama football, serving on staff for 17 seasons. Initially hired as an assistant coach, during his tenure, Ross would also lead recruiting before eventually settling in as the head of football operations for the Tide.

Following his 17 years at Alabama, Ross and his wife Ann moved to Dallas where he would go on to serve 11 seasons overseeing operations for SMU football. During his time at SMU Ross was promoted to senior associate athletic director.

Following the 2017 season, SMU head coach Chad Morris accepted the head coaching position at Arkansas. Morris asked Ross to move to Fayetteville with him, to oversee operations for the Hogs. Ross just completed his second season as Director of Football Operations at Arkansas.

Former SMU and Arkansas head coach Chad Morris offered, "Randy has impacted countless players, parents, staff members and coaches during his time in college football. His efforts to make our student athletes and coaches successful were always his top priority. Congratulations Coach Ross!"

In addition to his duties at Arkansas, Ross also currently serves as President of the Directors of Football Operations National Committee.


In December Ross announced his intention to retire. His positive energy will be missed by all who had the pleasure of working with him.

2019 CoY Wide

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by AstroTurf are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The prior winners selected this year's winner.

Ross will receive his award and be recognized at an event at the AFCA Convention.

Previous winners of the Football Operations Director of the Year award are Tom Deahn (Temple, 2009), Mike Kerin (West Virginia, 2010), Mike Sinquefield (TCU, 2011), Matt Doyle (Stanford, 2012), Jason Grooms (Ohio, 2013), Mack Butler (Oklahoma State, 2014), Mark Robinson (Florida State, 2015), Tim Knox (Illinois, 2016), Tyler Cook (UAB, 2017) and Shane Elder (North Texas, 2018).


Since 1965, the AstroTurf brand has been driven by forward thinking ingenuity. Today AstroTurf continuously improves its system design to deliver playing surfaces with the most realistic, sport-specific performance, longest lasting durability, and sound player protection. For more information please visit


Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has long been the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, strength & conditioning coaches, operations and equipment staff across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing first hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings.