Skip to main content
Publish date:

Patriot League to cancel fall season, attempt to play in spring

Update:The Patriot League has made the news official. Note that this announcement does not apply to Army and Navy.

  • Patriot League teams will not engage in competition in the fall season (championship and non-championship);
  • Decisions surrounding winter and spring sport competition will be made at a later date; and,
  • The opportunity for conditioning, strength training and other practice opportunities in all sports will be permitted provided health and safety conditions support such activities.

The Patriot League will follow the Ivy's lead and cancel its fall season, according to multiple reports on Monday.

The Patriot League is the conference most similar to the Ivy in Division I, consisting of private, high-achieving academic schools from the Northeast. Seven Patriot League schools sponsor football: Holy Cross (2019 champion), Lafayette, Bucknell, Lehigh, Colgate, Fordham and Georgetown.

Unlike the Ivy League, the Patriot League competes in the FCS playoffs. Holy Cross fell to Monmouth in a first round game last November.

Losing the Patriot League will necessitate an adjustment in the FCS playoff bracket, assuming the event is held this fall.

With now two dominoes fallen, one would expect the Pioneer Football League to be next. The non-scholarship Pioneer consists largely of private schools, but is geographically diverse, stretching from California to Florida and into Ohio.

As always, stay tuned to The Scoop for the latest.