Skip to main content

Steve Ensminger -- 2019 FootballScoop Quarterbacks Coach of the Year

FootballScoop is proud to announce that Steve Ensminger is the 2019 FootballScoop Quarterbacks Coach of the Year presented by AstroTurf as selected by prior winners.

In the late 1970s, Ensminger became arguably one of the best quarterbacks in LSU history to that point in time. In 2019, Ensminger coached, without a shred of doubt, the greatest quarterback in LSU history and one of the best in the sport's history.

Heading into the national title game, Joe Burrow has completed 371 of 478 passes for 5,208 yards with 55 touchdowns against just six interceptions, good for a 204.6 efficiency rating.

That mark puts him on pace to break the FBS single-season passing efficiency record. Burrow is nearly a full percentage point ahead of Colt McCoy's 2008 completion percentage record, and he's three touchdowns shy of tying Colt Brennan's 2006 FBS-record for single-season touchdowns.

In 2019, Burrow mastered the art of efficiency and volume. He ranks second nationally in yards per attempt (10.9) and yards per game (372).

Steve Ensminger

Burrow's historic season has included some nearly perfect games. His year began by throwing more touchdowns (five) than incompletions (four) in a 55-3 drubbing of Georgia Southern. A week later, Burrow hit 31-of-39 throws for 471 yards with four touchdowns in a 45-38 win at then-No. 9 Texas. He went 21-of-24 for 293 yards and three touchdowns in a 42-28 win over then-No. 6 Florida. He threw for 393 yards and three touchdowns in a 46-41 win at Alabama. He diced up Georgia (349 yards on 38 attempts with four touchdowns) in a 37-10 SEC Championship win, then returned to Atlanta three weeks later to eviscerate Oklahoma with 493 yards and seven touchdowns -- all in the first half -- in a 63-28 win.

In all, Burrow has thrown for at least 300 yards 12 times in 14 games, averaged at least 10 yards an attempt 11 times, posted a 200 or better rating nine times, and fired at least four touchdowns eight times.

For his accomplishments, Burrow in December became LSU's second Heisman Trophy winner, and the first Tiger quarterback to the win the honor. He became the first LSU signal caller to earn a First Team All-SEC designation since 2006.

2019 CoY Wide

An LSU graduate, Ensminger joined the coaching profession as Nicholls' wide receivers coach in 1982. His career has taken him to offensive coordinator posts at McNeese, Louisiana Tech, Texas A&M and Clemson, as well as a stint as the head coach at Central High School and the wide receivers job at West Monroe High. He spent 2003-08 on Tommy Tuberville's offensive staff at Auburn, 2009 as the passing game coordinator at Smiths Station High, then return to his alma mater in 2010. In his 10 seasons in Baton Rouge, Ensminger has coached tight ends and quarterbacks, serving as coordinator in 2016, moved back to tight ends coach in 2017, returned to the coordinator spot in 2018, and then happily shared the spotlight with Brady this season.

Ensminger's daughter-in-law, Carley McCord, tragically passed away on the morning of LSU's Peach Bowl appearance on Dec. 28.

"Steve calls most of the plays. He’s worked his tail off to learn the spread offense, he’s a general. Steve loves LSU, played at LSU, been at LSU a long time. He’s a very unselfish football coach," Ed Orgeron said of Ensminger. "You have to crown him MVP of the whole deal.”

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by AstroTurf are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The finalists (Graham Harrell [USC], Jeff Lebby [UCF], Phil Longo [North Carolina], Craig Stutzmann [Hawai'i] and Mike Yurcich [Ohio State]) were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel. The prior winners selected this year's winner.

With LSU set to play in the national title game during the AFCA convention, Ensminger will receive his award at a time to be determined.

Previous winners of the Quarterbacks Coach of the Year award are Josh Heupel (Oklahoma, 2008), Tom Rossley (Texas A&M, 2009), Mark Helfrich (Oregon, 2010 and 2012), Philip Montgomery (Baylor, 2011), Randy Sanders (Florida State, 2013), Kevin McGiven (Utah State, 2014), Mike Sanford (Notre Dame, 2015), Tyson Helton (USC, 2016), Jim Chaney (Georgia, 2017) and Tom Rees (Notre Dame, 2018).


FBS QB rating record

FBS completion % record

55 TDs, 6 INTs

Heisman Trophy winner


Since 1965, the AstroTurf brand has been driven by forward thinking ingenuity. Today AstroTurf continuously improves its system design to deliver playing surfaces with the most realistic, sport-specific performance, longest lasting durability, and sound player protection. For more information please visit


Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has long been the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, strength & conditioning coaches, operations and equipment staff across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing first hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings.