Skip to main content
Publish date:

The 2019 D-II Playoff field has been released

The field for the 2019 Division II playoffs has been set.

New this year is a slight change to how the brackets have been set up. The committee decided to do away with the term "Super Region" that had traditionally been used in an effort to alleviate some of the travel demands that were facing programs and fans early in the tournament.

Defending national champions Valdosta State along with 2018 runner-up Ferris State are both top seeds, along with Slippery Rock and Minnesota State - all of whom recently completed perfect seasons heading into postseason play. Those teams will enjoy first round byes.

Of the 28 teams that made the playoff, nine teams enter the bracket undefeated.

Compared to some of the other playoff results, the Division II bracket has been pretty wide open in recent years. Northwest Missouri State has won the title three times since 2012, with Valdosta State winning it all twice, and CSU-Pueblo and Texas A&M Commerce also bringing home one title each in that span.

This year's title game will take place at McKinney ISD (TX) stadium on December 21st. shared the 7-team regions via social media, and below you can see a screenshot of the full bracket from

Screen Shot 2019-11-17 at 5.28.33 PM
Screen Shot 2019-11-17 at 5.29.01 PM