Skip to main content

The Broyles Award names finalists

After naming their list of 15 semifinalists last week, the Broyles Award has now announced their finalists for the award honoring the best college football coach in the country.

Those coaches, as the NCFAA shares in their summary of 2020 College Football Award finalists, are:

  • Steve Sarkisian - Alabama Offensive Coordinator
  • Marcus Freeman - Cincinnati Defensive Coordinator
  • Jeff Grimes - BYU Offensive Coordinator
  • Mike Hankwitz - Northwestern Defensive Coordinator
  • Kane Wommack - Indiana Defensive Coordinator

Of those finalists, Hankwitz recently announced that he'll be retiring at the end of the season following 51 seasons in college football, and Wommack has been named the head coach at South Alabama, where he has recently made a key hire at offensive coordinator.

The ceremony is set to take place virtually on December 28th. Normally, of the finalists there is a clear cut favorite, but this year's crop of finalists is really strong and could go a number of ways.

Recent winners of the Broyles include Joe Brady (LSU - 2019), Mike Locksley (Alabama - 2018), Tony Elliott (Clemson - 2017), Brent Venables (Clemson - 2016) and Lincoln Riley (Oklahoma - 2015).

Here's a link to the original list of the 56 nominees of 2020, announced earlier this month.

Stay tuned to The Scoop for the latest.

Monday December 28th update> 

Sark has won.