Skip to main content
Publish date:

Tommy Moffitt -- 2019 FootballScoop Strength & Conditioning Coach of the Year

FootballScoop is proud to announce that Tommy Moffitt is the 2019 FootballScoop Strength & Conditioning Coach of the Year presented by AstroTurf as selected by prior winners.

The 2019 campaign was Moffitt's 20th at LSU, a period of time in which he, more than any other individual, revolutionized the college strength program -- and, in the process, college football itself.

And so it's fitting that the prior winners have, finally, selected Moffitt was the Strength Coach of the Year, following the crowning achievement that was the 2019 season.

The 2019 LSU Tigers completed, arguably, the most impressive season in college football history. In the process of becoming the second 15-0 team in college football's modern history, LSU knocked off seven AP Top 10 opponents -- five of them away from Baton Rouge. The Tigers went to Austin and beat Texas, went to Tuscaloosa and beat Alabama, and then ran off consecutive victories over No. 4 Georgia, No. 4 Oklahoma and No. 3 Clemson, by an average of 26 points.

Tommy Moffitt

That unprecedented run culminated in Moffitt's third national championship at LSU.

But the real proof of Moffitt's work came in the spring, when the NFL validated the LSU's staff like never before. A record 14 Tigers were selected in the 2020 NFL Draft, including five in the first round.

"In my 35 years of coaching Tommy Moffitt is not just one of the best strength coaches, but football coaches, I have ever been around. This honor is very well deserved," Ed Orgeron told FootballScoop.

A 1986 Tennessee Tech graduate, Moffitt began coaching as an assistant at John Curtis High School in River Ridge, La. He spent eight seasons there, and was named the National High School Strength Coach of the Year by the Professional Football Strength and Conditioning Coaches Society in 1994. He left John Curtis to become the associate head strength and conditioning coach at Tennessee, and then spent two seasons as the head strength coach at Miami before arriving at LSU in 2000.

2019 CoY Wide

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by AstroTurf are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The prior winners selected this year's winner.

Previous winners of the Strength & Conditioning Coach of the Year award are Don Sommer (TCU, 2008), Joey Batson (Clemson, 2009), Kevin Yoxall (Auburn, 2010), Shannon Turley (Stanford, 2011), Kaz Kazadi (Baylor, 2012), Pat Ivey (Missouri, 2013), Zac Woodfin (UAB, 2014), Ken Mannie (Michigan State, 2015), Tim Socha (Washington, 2016), Zach Duval (UCF, 2017), and Lew Caralla (Buffalo, 2018).


Since 1965, the AstroTurf brand has been driven by forward thinking ingenuity. Today AstroTurf continuously improves its system design to deliver playing surfaces with the most realistic, sport-specific performance, longest lasting durability, and sound player protection. For more information please visit


Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has long been the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, strength & conditioning coaches, operations and equipment staff across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing first hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings.