Skip to main content

What states are playing high school football this week

Friday morning update> Since publishing, Maine has decided to not play this Fall.

Original post Thursday>

As of this week, high school football is being played in 25 states.

In addition to the 25 playing, another 7 plan to begin play later this Fall.

New York, Connecticut and Rhode Island have all decided to postpone until 2021, while Michigan has reversed course and plans to play this fall and Louisiana accelerated their plan and now plan to have week 1 beginning the weekend of October 1st.

States that have started:

  • Utah 
  • Alaska 
  • Indiana 
  • North Dakota 
  • South Dakota 
  • Tennessee 
  • Alabama 
  • Idaho 
  • Iowa 
  • Montana 
  • Nebraska 
  • Texas 
  • Wyoming 
  • Arkansas 
  • Missouri 
  • Ohio 
  • Oklahoma 
  • West Virginia 
  • Georgia 
  • Florida 
  • Kansas 
  • Mississippi 
  • New Hampshire
  • Kentucky*
  • Pennsylvania*

*Start tomorrow night 9/11

In addition to those above, the 7 states below plan to play this Fall.

States that plan to play this fall:

  • Michigan 
  • Maine 
  • Wisconsin 
  • South Carolina 
  • Arizona 
  • New Jersey
  • Louisiana 

18 states, and the District of Columbia, currently are not planning to allow high school football until 2021.

States postponed to 2021:

  • California
  • District of Columbia
  • Colorado
  • Massachusetts
  • North Carolina
  • Virginia
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Washington
  • Oregon
  • Illinois
  • Minnesota
  • Maryland
  • Hawaii
  • Delaware
  • Vermont
  • Rhode Island
  • Connecticut
  • New York

Over 1,000 high school football games have been played across the country so far this season with no reports of community spread. Let's all do our part to keep it that way. Enjoy the games safely everybody and keep following protocols to keep the game safe for your players and staff.

We wish everyone playing tomorrow good luck. Friday night football is powerful.