Publish date:

Joe Brady wins the 2019 Broyles Award

Joe Brady has won the 2019 Broyles Award, it was announced Tuesday.

One of the most remarkable rises in recent memory, Brady was recognized as the top assistant coach in college football just one year after working as an "assistant to an assistant," in his words, with the New Orleans Saints. The 30-year-old is the first, first-year assistant to win the Broyles Award.

Ohio State's Jeff Hafley, Georgia's Dan Lanning, Utah's Morgan Scalley and Baylor's Phil Snow were also finalists.

In his first season on staff at LSU, Brady helped transform the Tigers' attack into one of the most lethal in college football. LSU averages 47.8 points per game (third nationally), 554.3 yards per game (first), 7.79 yards per play (third) while also ranking third in passing efficiency. After finishing 65th in passing efficiency a year ago, LSU quarterback Joe Burrow is now the overwhelming favorite to win the Heisman Trophy after throwing for 4,715 yards with 48 touchdowns against six interceptions. Heading into the College Football Playoff, Burrow is one of two players in FBS history to top the 200-point mark in passing efficiency across an entire season.

Last year, Alabama offensive coordinator Mike Locksley took home the award. The Broyles has a rich tradition of honoring the top minds in college football with coaches such as Lincoln Riley, Tom Herman, Pat Narduzzi, Gus Malzahn, and Kirby Smart winning the award over the last decade.

First awarded in 1996, eight of the last 11 winners later became head coaches at the FBS level. The only exceptions since 2008 are 2011 winner John Chavis and Clemson coordinators Brent Venables and Tony Elliott.

The Broyles Award asks each finalist to speak, and it's great. All five speeches are below.

Joe Brady

Jeff Hafley

Dan Lanning

Morgan Scalley

Phil Snow

As always, stay tuned to The Scoop for the latest.