Skip to main content

The Scoop

Wednesday June 10, 2009 (Update 2)

The NCAA selected 19 football coaches to participate in the 2009 NCAA Expert Coaches Forum. The forum targets coaches with at least eight years of experience and is designed to improve and reinforce critical aspects of securing, managing and excelling in head football coaching positions at the intercollegiate level. Topics that will be covered during the three-day workshop include media training, fiscal responsibility, building a successful program, compliance issues and academic issues.

Participants in the June 18-20 forum are:
Olabaniji Abanishe:
Head Coach, Lincoln (Pennsylvania)
James Joe: assistant head football coach, Miles
Frederick Reed: defensive coordinator, Buffalo
Cedric Pearl: offensive coordinator, Alabama A&M
Chris Vaughn: recruiting coordinator and cornerbacks, Mississippi
Michael Morand: co-offensive coordinator, North Carolina A&T
Alexander Wood: defensive coordinator, Wayne State (Nebraska)
Robert Anae: offensive coordinator, Brigham Young
Corey Batoon: assistant head coach and defensive coordinator, Northern Arizona
Payam Saadat: co-defensive coordinator, Army
Kurt Barber: defensive coordinator, Kentucky State
Shannon Jackson: defensive coordinator, Indiana State
Eric Jackson: defensive backs coach, Princeton
Nigel Burton: defensive coordinator, Nevada
Darrell Perkins: defensive backs coach and recruiting coordinator, Louisiana-Monroe
Chennis Berry: offensive coordinator and offensive line coach, North Carolina A&T
Herbert Parham: assistant head coach and defensive coordinator, Morgan State
Sherman Wood: head coach, Salisbury
Stephon Healey: associate head coach, Bridgewater State

Presenters at the forum include Ohio State AD Gene Smith, South Carolina AD Eric Hyman, Houston head football coach Kevin Sumlin (a graduate of the forum) and Bernard Franklin, NCAA executive vice president of membership and student-athlete affairs and former president at Virginia Union, Livingstone and Saint Augustine's.