Skip to main content

Brent Pease - 2010 Wide Receivers Coach of the Year


FootballScoop is proud to announce that Brent Pease (Boise State) is the 2010 FootballScoop Wide Receivers Coach of the Year presented by SpeedTracs. 

Under the tutelage of Pease, a dynamic trio of receivers helped Boise State averaged 46 points per game, while completing 71% of passing attempts.

Receivers Titus Young and Austin Pettis developed into one of the nation’s most dangerous combinations. Young and Pettis combined for 160 yards per game and scored 18 touchdowns. Both receivers earned First Team All-WAC honors. The development of junior receiver Tyler Shoemaker gave quarterback Kellen Moore three reliable options. Shoemaker averaged an impressive 18 yards per catch and added 4 touchdowns. 


From blocking to toughness to making the clutch catch, the Boise State receivers showed they are the complete package. Pease’s group helped the Broncos convert 49% of third-down opportunities (11th nationally), while averaging 519 yards per game. A number of coaches nominated Pease for this award, several of which mentioned the overall physicality and toughness from his group of receivers.

Head coach Chris Petersen told FootballScoop, "Coach Pease has been doing an outstanding job with the Broncos' wide receivers, and it's nice to see others are noticing what we have been seeing here in Boise the last five years. It's enjoyable for players to work with coaches who not only want to make them better players, but who want to help them become better people. We definitely have that with Coach Pease."

Boise State finished 11-1 and earned a trip to the MAACO Bowl in Las Vegas on December 22nd, where the Broncos will play Utah.

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by SpeedTracs are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The finalists (Pease, Curt Cignetti - Alabama, Mouse Davis - Hawaii and Trooper Taylor - Auburn) were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel. A panel of coaches including previous recipients determined the 2010 winners.

Previous winners of the Wide Receivers Coach of the Year award are Bobby Kennedy (Texas, 2008) and Zach Azzanni (Central Michigan, 2009).


11-1 and WAC Co-Champions

2nd Nationally - Passing Efficiency

2nd Nationally - Scoring Offense (46.6 PPG)

4th Nationally - Total Offense (519 YPG)

6th Nationally - Passing Offense (319 YPG)

11th Nationally - Third down conversions (49%)

2 First Team All-WAC receivers

Created in 1999, is the premier source for coaching job information and has evolved into the most widely viewed website by coaches, athletic directors, equipment managers and strength & conditioning coaches across America. As the leading coaching job information venue, serves our viewers’ needs by providing 1st hand, timely & accurate information for our audience. is the premier provider of official job postings. 

SpeedTracs provides sports performance tracking services and affordable, pro-caliber speed and agility training to the nation’s top high school and college sports programs. Its world-class training curriculums enable teams to train together on campus and under their own coaches, much the same way strength and conditioning training are available today via the school weight room. Through its acclaimed performance tracking software, SportsTracs™, athlete performance is tracked and measured to improve their speed, agility, explosion, strength, flexibility and endurance. For more information, visit